SystemInfo 3.0
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
SystemInfo 3.0
Announce of version 3.0 beta1 of SystemInfo,
look here
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=42&start=15
look here
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=42&start=15
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
bug testing required!
version 3.0 mentioned here is a beta1, so if any, report bugs you could experience (hopefully none
)
I already succesfully tested it on Win2000/XP Win98 SE and Win ME
I need still these confirmation that everything is ok.
Win95
Win98 first edition
Win NT before version 4
Win NT 40 before SP6
Win NT 40 after SP6
any of the above systems without ethernet cards and with modem
any of the above systems with more than 1 ethernet cards
any of the above systems with "strange" configurations (tell me which is the strange thing - eg very huge ram, or 7 hard disks or ultrawide scsi hard disks and so on).
any other test I didn't mention here expressly.
I would like to ask you collaboration and any feedback is welcome so as to promote this to version 3.0 final and start to create the file system plugin version of this tool


I already succesfully tested it on Win2000/XP Win98 SE and Win ME
I need still these confirmation that everything is ok.










I would like to ask you collaboration and any feedback is welcome so as to promote this to version 3.0 final and start to create the file system plugin version of this tool


always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
Hi all,
if you reload the archive from
http://web.cefriel.it/~frumento/uploads/Programs/wlx_SystemInfo.zip
I recompiled with different optimizations the program DigTheSystem.exe, compressing it also using Aspack in evaluation mode.
Now the program is 10kb less than the previous distribution

if you reload the archive from
http://web.cefriel.it/~frumento/uploads/Programs/wlx_SystemInfo.zip
I recompiled with different optimizations the program DigTheSystem.exe, compressing it also using Aspack in evaluation mode.
Now the program is 10kb less than the previous distribution


always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
You could use upx - it's free:
http://upx.sourceforge.net/
http://upx.sourceforge.net/
Nigurrath
How do u get the "CPU Extended features", i know how to use the CPUID OpCode $A20F, but the features dword returned by this cmd in the EDX register is not the same.
Also do you have a list of what each bit in both of these feature flags mean?
How do u get the "CPU Extended features", i know how to use the CPUID OpCode $A20F, but the features dword returned by this cmd in the EDX register is not the same.
Also do you have a list of what each bit in both of these feature flags mean?
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.
Aezay >>
Take a look at "the camel program":
http://www.codeproject.com/system/camel.asp
And/or:
http://grafi.ii.pw.edu.pl/gbm/x86/cpuid.html
Take a look at "the camel program":
http://www.codeproject.com/system/camel.asp
And/or:
http://grafi.ii.pw.edu.pl/gbm/x86/cpuid.html
- sqa_wizard
- Power Member
- Posts: 3893
- Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
- Location: Germany
2Nigurrath
I just crawled through my list of often used plugins.
Wow, is it really more than 8 years ago that I installed Systeminfo?
... and it works flawlessly all the time, no update needed.
Nevertheless, I will upgrade to Win7-x64 and with upcoming TC 8 I'm anxious about the compatibility.
Do you have any plans to provide a 64-bit version of Systeminfo plugin ?
I just crawled through my list of often used plugins.
Wow, is it really more than 8 years ago that I installed Systeminfo?
... and it works flawlessly all the time, no update needed.

Nevertheless, I will upgrade to Win7-x64 and with upcoming TC 8 I'm anxious about the compatibility.
Do you have any plans to provide a 64-bit version of Systeminfo plugin ?
#5767 Personal license
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50505
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
2Nigurrath
You don't need a 64-bit machine to cross compile to 64-bit, and there are plenty of testers here.
About the assembler, it's quite easy to port to 64-bit. In general, you don't need to make any changes to variables within the processor, but you need to update it for pointers and reference to memory. I had to port quite a bit of assembler in TC too.
But it's not difficult - just replace the registered starting with "e" by registered starting with "r":
esi -> rsi
edi -> rdi
eax->rax
ebx->rbx
ecx->rcx
edx->rdx
but leave thouse 32-bit which are 32-bit values, for example
mov eax,[rdi]
to load a 32-bit variable at (64bit) address [rdi] into (32bit) eax.
Btw, I made just a tiny error in such an asembler conversion, that's why some keys didn't work in beta 1.
You don't need a 64-bit machine to cross compile to 64-bit, and there are plenty of testers here.
About the assembler, it's quite easy to port to 64-bit. In general, you don't need to make any changes to variables within the processor, but you need to update it for pointers and reference to memory. I had to port quite a bit of assembler in TC too.
But it's not difficult - just replace the registered starting with "e" by registered starting with "r":
esi -> rsi
edi -> rdi
eax->rax
ebx->rbx
ecx->rcx
edx->rdx
but leave thouse 32-bit which are 32-bit values, for example
mov eax,[rdi]
to load a 32-bit variable at (64bit) address [rdi] into (32bit) eax.
Btw, I made just a tiny error in such an asembler conversion, that's why some keys didn't work in beta 1.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
Hello Christian,
if using inline assembler code, VS2008 doesn't want to compile it on Itanium or x64 platform.
for fileinfo and mmedia, I had needed to rewrite some lines of my sources.
if using inline assembler code, VS2008 doesn't want to compile it on Itanium or x64 platform.
Code: Select all
error C4235 : nonstandard extension used : '_asm' keyword not supported on this architecture
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50505
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I can understand that for Itanium, but why for x64? The asm code is almost identical! Lazarus has no problems with it...
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com