This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

command prompt makes tc 7 crash

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Bug reports from previous betas (unresolved) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:51 pm    Post subject: command prompt makes tc 7 crash Reply with quote

hey,

I got a bug that I can reproduce...
every time I got drive d: on the right and left side of the tc window, if I want to type into the tc command prompt:

//asdf

(trying to access the windows network shares of asdf) tc crashes. I got version 7.0.

problem signature:
AppName: totalcmd.exe AppVer: 7.0.4.1 ModName: ntdll.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.5512 Offset: 00012c16

if you need anymore infos, tell me.

do I get a free copy of total commander now? Very Happy

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
if you need anymore infos, tell me

Which operating system do you use ?

Tried on Win XP SP3, but no crash:

... with not existing PC "asdf"
the wrong one: //asdf => file not found
the correct one: \\asf =>Search path not found!

... with existing PC "mypc"
the wrong one: //mypc => file not found
the correct one: \\mypc =>Windows explorer opens showing "mypc" shares

Seems to be correct, no crash at all !

BTW: to open a share at TC, use a "cd" in front:
Code:
cd \\asdf

_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xp sp3 with all updates installed.
I think it has something to do with the tabs you can use in tc, I had at least 2 tabs at the right and the left open, and once they are not pointing to a position in c:\ but d:\ or higher, the program crashes. I guess it has something to do with the tabs?
it dosent matter if you use an existing computer name or not, the program crashed instantly when I reproduced it.
actually, it crashes after the second "\" if I type it slowly.
can you reproduce it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
can you reproduce it?

No, not at all ... sorry

What I can see, is that after the first "\", there is a "autocomplete" action, showing all folders of that level as a suggestion.

How many folder do you have on that level ?
Are there any special characters at those folder names?
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well thats interesting, I dont get a autocomplete for the second "\"... the dropdown menu comes up without any entries.
I get a normal autocomplete dropdown just for the first backslash, and there are some with strange numbers(like the 1/4 symbol, but I guess they have nothing to do with the crash since the crash happens with the second backslash.

there are just normal characters like ~, or "umlaute" like ń÷Ř.
but even if for example the right window thats selected is in an empty dir, tc crashes, as long as I have a drive letter higher then c:\ on the selected side.
I can do this vice versa, with a drive letter higher then c:\ selected on the left side also.

mh, right now I noticed that it also happens without tabs on the right or left side.

maybe really a problem with the autocomplete entries for some drives in my system - can you tell me where they are stored to I can take a look at them? would make sense since I cant see the autocomplete entries before tc crashes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meanwhile I found out where tc stores the command line history.
there are no entries with special characters in wincmd.ini -> [Command line history] - not even umlaute like ńŘ÷. the only characters not included in the alphabet and numbers are:
/
\
:
%
-
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may disable "autocomplete" just to exclude this cause.

Configuration - Options - Operation
At section "Main program" change the last entries:
Code:
[ ] Auto-complete paths
[ ] Auto-append suggested names
just disable both
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

disabling both entries does the trick for me - no more crashes. I need both to be disabled. but I must admit that I like that auto-complete feature... any chances that this bug will be fixed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we just have located the reason, not the cause Wink

Now we have to analyse why it crashes your system only.
Others (incl. me) don't have any problems with this ...
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope I am not the only one, otherwise this bug wont be important enough to fix it! Very Happy

If you need any further assistance, I get an email when there are new postings to this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Bug reports from previous betas (unresolved) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group