TC7.5PB8: Interference context menu & ahk file with msgb

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

TC7.5PB8: Interference context menu & ahk file with msgb

Post by *Samuel »

I wrote this little and very meaningful ahk:

Code: Select all

Sleep,2000
msgbox,Hello World
After running it from TC I opened the contextmenu and waited for the messagebox. And boom -> TC crashes. Reproduceable every time! (I get more "EEDFADE" than "7E7BA71D" violations.)

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 7.50PB8
---------------------------
Access violation at address 7E7BA71D. Read of address 00000008.

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
7E7BA71D
>683BE5  569088  6666AF  50217D  443BAD  413E90
443193  413E90  41950F  69B62B  
Raw:
6827D2  443101  413E90  443F17  4166FD  514E10
441C7D  443E6D  415B6C  443255  443BAD  413E90
443193  413E90  6827EB  683BE5  6982D7  696860
5003D7  5D9F18  65E08F  564ED5  443193  413E90
4649B5  4651E6  465216  46599F  5C0062  697DDC
697DFF  4F0049  41002C  6983F3  675BB8  675BB8
443101  413E90  443F17  441C7D  443E6D  443E6D
4334B9  443255  443BAD  443BD0  421CBE  402235
4033D4  4021B4  698225  6980CC  422F79  42679F
413E90  443E6D  415B6C  443255  443BAD  443BD0

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Ja   Nein   
---------------------------

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 7.50PB8
---------------------------
External exception EEDFADE.

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: 0EEDFADE
Stack trace:
0165BCB2
>683BE5  569088  6666AF  50217D  443BAD  413E90
443193  413E90  41950F  69B62B  
Raw:
6827D2  443101  413E90  443F17  4166FD  514E10
441C7D  443E6D  415B6C  443255  443BAD  413E90
443193  413E90  6827EB  683BE5  6724EA  6983F3
675BB8  675BB8  443101  413E90  443F17  441C7D
443E6D  443E6D  4334B9  443255  443BAD  443BD0
413E90  443193  413E90  421CBE  402235  4033D4
4021B4  698225  6980CC  422F79  42679F  443101
413E90  443F17  441C7D  443E6D  4334B9  443BAD
501B2E  441C7D  443E6D  415B6C  443255  443BAD
443BD0  413E90  5C0062  443101  413E90  443F17

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Ja   Nein   
---------------------------
Last edited by Samuel on 2009-08-02, 06:46 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

It does not work if I use an empty ini.
There should be this 2 entrys in it:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
Mainmenu=WCMD_DEU.mnu
UseRightButton=0
It does not happen if I use the contextmenu on a folder or on a txt file.
there are more (visible) entrys in a ini file compared to other files.

It does happen with the Czech, Dansk, German, Fançais, Spanish, Italian, ... Language.
It does not happen with the English Language.
Last edited by Samuel on 2009-08-02, 07:24 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

With as much as you use AHK, I'm sure you would of noticed this before. This doesn't happen at all in b7 right?
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Negative.
Can even reproduce it with TC 7.04.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48088
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Unfortunately there is nothing I can do - the error occurs outside of TC.

Address 683BE5 contains the function call to TrackPopupMenu(), which is the last part of code within TC before the error occurs. Address 7E7BA71D and 0165BCB2 are not within Total Commander.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

The strange thing is:
It works without a Mainmenu string like "Mainmenu=WCMD_DEU.mnu".
So I thought it should be TC related.

BTW: Did anyone try to reproduce it?
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

How are you calling it?
I've got a button that does:
Command: "c:\Program Files\Accessories\AutoHotkey\AutoHotkey.exe" "C:\User\FOO\Application Data\AutoHotkey\FileCopyTest.ahk "
Parameters: %X%P%S %T%R
I changed the AHK to:
Sleep, 2000
MsgBox, "Hello World"

Also, MsgBox, Hello World
Also tried with removing the ButtonBar params above.
None caused any crash by attempting to open context menu or TC's MainMenu.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

a) create a "test.ahk" with the content:

Code: Select all

Sleep, 2000
MsgBox, "Hello World"
b) just hit return on the file
c) rightclick the file within the next 2 seconds and do not close the menu.
j
Member
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: 2009-04-13, 19:49 UTC

Post by *j »

No crash here either.... (Win7 x64, TC7.5b8)
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

No crash here either.... (Win Vista)

I could only confirm it on my PC. (Win XP SP3)
Strange. The last new installation is quite a long time ago. Perhaps this is the problem.

BTW: I forgot one important fact in the reproduce steps above: change language from Englisch to Eerman or any non English language.

So I almost think the case could be closed.
Post Reply