TC can't work with some folders with specific names

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

TC can't work with some folders with specific names

Post by *MVV »

As was discovered here, TC can't handle names with dots at the end (BTW, Explorer can't handle such names also). But it is possible to use prefix "\\?\" to work with such names (rename/delete).

Maybe TC can use prefix "\\?\" to work with NTFS names?

Another case is name that TC can't handle but Explorer does. Execute in CMD:

Code: Select all

md " . /
It will create folder with name " . ". TC can't enter this folder, can't open its properties, when I try to rename folder, TC shows only few spaces in old name (but can rename it).

BTW Explorer can enter this folder, can work with such folder, and other apps can open files from such folder.

I know that name is strange but... Maybe TC cuts spaces before and after dot and gets just dot as name so it can't do nothing with folder?

BTW if I execute command:

Code: Select all

md " .. /
I will get folder that will drop me to parent folder when I try to enter it:) But Explorer enters it normally.
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

1a) mkdir " . /" OR, mkdir " .\ " (equivalent folders)

Code: Select all

Action: TC / Exp / Cmd
Delete: Yes, No, Yes
renam: Yes, No, No
Open : No , Yes, No
1b) mkdir " ./" OR, mkdir " .\" (equivalent folders)

Code: Select all

Action: TC / Exp / Cmd
Delete: Yes, No, Yes
renam: Yes, No, No
Open : Yes, Yes, No
2a) mkdir " .. \ OR mkdir " .. /

Code: Select all

Action: TC / Exp / Cmd
Delete: Yes , No, Yes
renam: Yes, No, No
Open :  *  , Yes, No
2b) mkdir " ..\" OR mkdir " ../" (equivalent folders)

Code: Select all

Action: TC / Exp / Cmd
Delete: No , No, Yes
renam: No , No, No
Open : No , Yes, No
TC can rename all but the last one.
Explorer && CMD.exe can't rename any.

TC can delete all but the last one.
Explorer can't delete any of them.
CMD.exe can delete all of them.

TC can open ONE of them, plus 2a) where it acts as if its the ".." updir folder.
Explorer can open All of them.
CMD.exe can't open any of them.

TC treats both " . " and " ." as if its the current dir folder.

Not sure if this is buggy or not, considering "." and ".." are system directories that exist in all folders. Behaviour when creating folders like this is to be unexpected..
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48088
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, currently it's not planned to handle names which are "forbidden" by the Windows API (but still allowed in the underlying NTFS file system with the \\?\ hack). The only exception are extra-long names with more than 259 characters.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply