Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Slight error importing TC's registry keys

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Pocket Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gbusch
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Slight error importing TC's registry keys Reply with quote

I keep a backup of my settings in TC Pocket's registry keys, and recently copied them back into the registry after a hard reset. Some errors showed up. Note that after I made the backup, I examined the exported .reg file with TC's text editor, and everything looked fine, so the errors would seem to have been introduced during the import rather than the export process. Here's what I found:

In the user-created buttons:
The parameter and start path fields, if unused, were filled with squares, possibly representing undisplayable characters, such as Tab.

In the FTP dialogue for each account, the following two fields, if unused, were filled with those squares, as well:
- Remote dir
- Send cmds

In one case, the remote directory had been specified, and the very same data appeared under "send cmds".

The server type field had
"load detect string" instead of my original "auto-detect"

The firewall field had
"Add new firewall", when I had originally unchecked it.

Not a serious problem, as I simply corrected those errors when I found them, but I thought you should know about them.

By the way, I used TC Pocket's registry plugin for both exporting and importing, not an external regedit utility. The version of TC Pocket is 2.52b3 for WM5 (ARM/XScale).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28269
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your report. Can you post a shortened .reg file which contains just the entries creating bad strings, please? This would make it easier for me to find the error.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gbusch
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the error affected only the button and ftp values, so I've pasted them in below. For security reasons, I've omitted my confidential FTP accounts and included just an anonymous one with a public server, but that account was also affected.

Unfortunately I can't reproduce the corrupt values, as I've already corrected the entries by editing the fields in the dialogues. I should have copied the invalid values before I did that. They had been filled in, but were supposed to have been left blank, and I've marked them here with "!!!".

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ghisler\CECmd\Buttons]
"BUTTON1"="\\Windows\\SwitcherBar.exe,-111"
"BUTTON2"="\\Program Files\\Icon Files\\Icons4.dll,-104"
"BUTTON3"="SwitcherBar.exe"
"BUTTON4"="SwitcherBar.exe,-110"
"BUTTON5"="\\Program Files\\Pocket Painter\\Painter.exe"
"BUTTON6"="\\Program Files\\Icon Files\\TextFileIcon,0"
"BUTTON7"="\\Program Files\\Rotate Left.exe"
"CMD1"="40031"
"CMD2"="cd \\CF Card"
"CMD3"="40023"
"CMD4"="40048"
"CMD5"="\\Program Files\\Pocket Painter\\Painter.exe"
"CMD6"="Notepad.exe"
"CMD7"="40046"
"PARAM1"=""
"PARAM2"=""
"PARAM3"=""
"PARAM4"=""
"PARAM5"="\"%P%N\""
"PARAM6"="%P%N"
"PARAM7"=""
!!! "PATH1"=""
!!! "PATH2"=""
!!! "PATH3"=""
!!! "PATH4"=" "
!!! "PATH5"=""
!!! "PATH6"=" "
!!! "PATH7"=""

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ghisler\ftp]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ghisler\ftp\servers]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ghisler\ftp\servers\Opera]
!!! "firewall"=""
"password"="a1a11195f4819e369340b9a8516f285962e53ccc4125d0659fa989db7927b070"
"remotedir"="/pub/opera/winmobile"
!!! "sendcmds"=""
"server"="ftp.opera.com"
!!! "servertype"=""
"username"="anonymous"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28269
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, I will test it!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Pocket All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group