Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[TC8.0▀8]: VistaDelete=1 Prevents Elevated Delete Operation

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 4264
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:25 pm    Post subject: [TC8.0▀8]: VistaDelete=1 Prevents Elevated Delete Operation Reply with quote

Hello, Christian.

I am afraid there is another downside of VistaDelete=1:
VistaDelete=1 can prevent you from deleting files and folders to recycle bin in elevated mode.
If this happens exiting T.C. will close the window, but its processes will never die.

How to reproduce:
  1. You are logged on to Windows 7 64-bit as User1
  2. UAC is switched on
  3. Windows Recycle Bin switched on
  4. T.C. VistaDelete=1
  5. T.C. UseTrash=1
  6. You enter a folder owned by User2
  7. You confirm the UAC dialogue
  8. TCMADMIN or TCMADM64 is launched
  9. You select a file owned by User2
  10. You press DEL => Confirmation dialogue briefly pops up and vanishes (might be an error message too, impossible to see any details)
  11. You cannot delete the file to recycle bin
    (Note: shift DEL works as expected and 13 does not happen)
  12. You exit Total Commander (this is what you think)
  13. Process Hacker reveals:
    + TCMADMIN /TCMADM64 does not exit
    + TOTALCMD / TOTALCMD64 does not exit and eats up 1 CPU completely
    + Only the T.C. window is gone
    + You kill both using Process Hacker

Testing environment:

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, 64-bit
Total Commander 8.0▀8 32-bit + 64-bit
Total Commander 8.0▀7 32-bit + 64-bit

I assume that this problem is older than T.C. 8 and that it is unrelated to 32-bit or 64-bit.

Kind regards,
Karl
--
<Added>
Added that Totalcmd.exe/totalcmd64.exe uses 100% of 1 CPU when it does not exit. Had forgotten this details when first writing my post.
</Added>


Last edited by karlchen on Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 5809
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can fully confirm this although using task manager to verify that TCMADMIN /TCMADM64 and TOTALCMD / TOTALCMD64 does not exit.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
Win XP 32bit SP3 & Win 7 64bit SP1 & Win 8.1 64bit. TC 8.51 32+64bit, TC 2.05b2d

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 4264
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:45 pm    Post subject: [offtopic] Reply with quote

Hello, petermad.

<offtopic>
I just mentioned Process Hacker, because I like to promote my current favourite freeware task manager replacement. - Using task manager or Process Explorer is acceptable in this case, too.
</offtopic>


<ontopic>
  1. Added a detail in the initial report: when T.C. refuses to exit totalcmd.exe/toalcmd64.exe uses 100% of one CPU kernel.
  2. The box which pops up quickly and vanishes in no time at all is not a confirmation dialogue, but the Total Commander delete progress box.
  3. The problem can be reproduced using Total Commander 7.56a. So it is in fact older than T.C. 8.0. Might even have been reported a long time ago already in some long forgotten thread.
</ontopic>

Cheers,
Karl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm the problem - please delete the file with Shift+Del instead. It seems that VistaDelete fails to work altogether in folders it cannot see.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 4264
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, Christian.

Just noticed this in the history.txt:
Quote:
08.11.11 Fixed: Don't use VistaDelete method if file cannot be found, e.g. because it's in a directory belonging to a different user (32/64)
I assume this is the fix for the reported problem: do not use VistaDelete in situations where the delete operation is launched by TCMADMIN /TCMADM64.

First tests on Windows 7 Enterprise SP1, 32-bit, using T.C. 8.0▀9 32-bit with VistaDelete=1 suggest that this prevents the problem from occurring.
The same applies for Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, 64-bit, using T.C. 8.0▀9 64-bit with VistaDelete=1.

Deleting my co-worker's files and folders - after consenting to elevate my privileges - temporarily ignores the VistaDelete=1 parameter and uses the T.C. delete method. (1)
Deleting my own files and folders uses the VistaDelete method. (2)

So the fix works.

Testing environment:
Windows 7 Enterprise SP1, 32-bit + Total Commander 8.0▀9 32-bit
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, 64-bit + Total Commander 8.0▀9 64-bit

Thanks and kind regards,
Karl
--
(1) Nobody's gonna tell him his data had to be sacrificed for scientific reasons?!
(2) Anybody happens to have seen my backups anywhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 5809
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirmed fixed in TC 8.0b9 32 and 64bit Smile
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
Win XP 32bit SP3 & Win 7 64bit SP1 & Win 8.1 64bit. TC 8.51 32+64bit, TC 2.05b2d

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's the fix to this problem - thanks for confirming!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group