Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The height of the edit file name in more than 7.56a
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Russian

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
I don't know which is better - it's up to you to decide.
gora wrote:
In version 8 all was normal for me. Return as was in version 8, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sob
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are clearly two things:

1) different heights in 32-bit and 64-bit TC - they of course should be the same and have the right height
2) the matter of what right height is

It seems to me that you complain about 1), because beta 9 broke it again. I'm after 2).

I wrote simple application to test if we're seeing the same sizes. It looks like this:

http://web.hisoftware.cz/sob/download/edit-height-test.png

Left column consists of sample edits with heights from font_weight+0 to font_weight+10. The used font can be set above, to compare with TC settings. The other two columns are screenhots of the first one from Windows 7 with Aero and Classic themes. So it's possible to compare if it looks the same as the first column (for default Microsoft Sans Sefif 8). I can't imagine it could have different heights (with exception of different DPI settings - I use defaults everywhere).

Rename edit heights I see in TC:

- TC 7.56a = +5
- TC 8.0 beta 5 (with differences between 32/64)
- 32-bit = +5
- 64-bit = +8
- TC 8.0 beta 6 (after making height the same - but still have problems with some font combinations)
- 32-bit = +5
- 64-bit = +5
- TC 8.0 beta 8 (new algorithm for calculating the height, does not depend on main window font)
- 32-bit = +4
- 64-bit = +4
- TC 8.0 beta 9
- 32-bit = +6
- 64-bit = +8

Now what the right height is. I believe it's +6 (*1). With +4 I was seeing in beta 8 there was no space between the text and borders when using Classic theme. With Aero and other themes, edits have only 1px borders (as compared to 2px in Classic) so there was 1px space there and it didn't look bad. But even with Aero, +6 looks better, because it makes the space 2px, which is the same as left space and if you look at higher edits (+7 and above), you can see the top space always being 2px, so I take it as the best value.

There's of course the question how it's possible that my +6 is different from TC's +6. If you could run my test application and check what you see (screenshots welcome), it might perhaps bring some clues (e.g. if it's system-dependent).

http://web.hisoftware.cz/sob/download/edit-height-test.7z (contains 32-bit Delphi 5 version and 64-bit Lazarus version)
http://web.hisoftware.cz/sob/download/edit-height-test-src.7z (source)

--
(*1) it is actually computed value, it just happens that it was 6 with all themes so far


Last edited by Sob on Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Russian

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Sob
I don't know that to you will give my screenshots, but here they:
http://gora.7zsfx.info/test/capture_001_14112011_152015.png
http://gora.7zsfx.info/test/capture_003_14112011_152209.png
It is in my opinion better to use +4 since it is necessary to remember also about the next line on the panel which is partially closed at the big height of edit box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sob
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gora wrote:
I don't know that to you will give my screenshots, but here they:

I just want to be sure that we're seeing the same sizes. Can you also confirm that you see the same sizes in TC as I do (+4 in beta 8 and +6/8 in beta 9 32/64)? Because it would mean that although author is settings some value, there must be something adding another 2px.

Quote:
It is in my opinion better to use +4 since it is necessary to remember also about the next line on the panel which is partially closed at the big height of edit box.

It really depends on used font. With default Microsoft Sans Serif 8, even +6 edit *with correct vertical position* does not hide any part of text in line above or below. With Segoe UI 9 even +4 edit hides few pixels (with texts like "gyq" above or "̊ČÁ" below).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Russian

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed in 8.0β10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28123
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you check both the 32-bit and 64-bit version?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Russian

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Did you check both the 32-bit and 64-bit version?
Yes! Both the 32-bit and 64-bit version is OK. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 2949
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirm, the 32- and 64-bit versions now show identical rename boxes, and both with correct sizes. Tested with several different fonts, did not notice any significant problems (of course, except for the gap at the beginning which is unfixable at the moment).
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 8.51a / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sob
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like it too. :)

Well, if I wanted to nitpick, it still doesn't have the best vertical position (1px up would be better, because the text would not move down that way), but as it's just one pixel and it's the same as it was for the long time before and I didn't mind it back then, I'll be quiet. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group