This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

pseudo background button on "find files" (alt+F7)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

would you use a background button on search screen?
Yes
66%
 66%  [ 12 ]
No
33%
 33%  [ 6 ]
Total Votes : 18

Author Message
SkipR
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 39
Location: W. Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:04 am    Post subject: pseudo background button on "find files" (alt+F7) Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
This is normal because the search is performed in the foreground thread. Reason: Plugins and some unpackers used by the search are not guaranteed to support multi-threading.


As previously indicated in another post: find files search can''t run as a background thread in the current totalcmd.exe process space. Would you consider a "background" button on find files dialog that creates another process of totalcmd.exe AFTER saving the current state settings and leaves the search running in first process. Ideally first process would miniimize and flash the system tray icon when its done searching. That would allow you to keep working while the search runs in first process. Searching several GB of data for a text string can take a while and sometimes it is during a search I think to myself I should have really saved settings of current totalcmd.exe and started a new copy to run this search Smile

I know you could just start another copy of totalcmdr.exe yourself but your current settings are not in that one because the other running process has not done a save settings (and you cant do it because the foreground thread is busy). Anyone care to comment if they have thought about this.
_________________
Skip
Perth, AU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7304
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2moderators - this thread should be moved to the Polls section.

2SkipR
This is the place to put polls: Total Commander Polls (English).
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would vote "Yes" if it was possible. Unfortunately, it's not. You cannot save the compete state of TC so that after restarting (or starting a new instance) you had absolutely the same working environment. For example, TC does not store: cursor position, scrollbar position, current focus (in left/right panel, command line, button bar), current selection, previous selection (the one restored by Num/), text typed in command line and not yet executed, and so on and so forth.

Of course, theoretically, Ghisler could implement saving all those parameters but it seems to me to be harder than implementing background search by starting new totalcmd.exe instance from the very beginning (which was proposed already), just like SyncDirs or Lister (/S or /L command-line arguments).
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
axxo1
New Member
New Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a good idea to me. Voted *YES*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SkipR
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 39
Location: W. Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flint wrote:
I would vote "Yes" if it was possible. Unfortunately, it's not. You cannot save the compete state of TC so that after restarting (or starting a new instance) you had absolutely the same working environment. For example, TC does not store: cursor position, scrollbar position, current focus (in left/right panel, command line, button bar), current selection, previous selection (the one restored by Num/), text typed in command line and not yet executed, and so on and so forth.

Of course, theoretically, Ghisler could implement saving all those parameters but it seems to me to be harder than implementing background search by starting new totalcmd.exe instance from the very beginning (which was proposed already), just like SyncDirs or Lister (/S or /L command-line arguments).


Interesting point, I would be happy with what is currently the "save state" (= what settings are currently saved on shutdown to wincmd.ini). Perhaps the proposed button would stop current search, do a save settings (ie wincmd.ini is updated), start a new instance of TC and pass it the search which runs (even if from the beginning again in another window). I think that's what you meant in your second paragraph. The end result would be the same - a search running in background while still allowing you to work in another TC instance (in that scenario you are in the original instance). Of course up to Ghisler to decide which implementation is the simpler solution. I think "Search" is the only function that has no send to "background" ability in TC.
_________________
Skip
Perth, AU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SkipR
Ghisler already implemented search in separate process in 8.50. So, I suppose, there is no more need in the discussed button.
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group