QuickSearch eXtended

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
ThiefMaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 2003-10-27, 16:49 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ThiefMaster »

Doesn't work for me :/

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
tcmatch=%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\tcmatch\tcmatch64.dll
...
I'm curious - how is it supposed to work? None of your code is running until that DLL is loaded, but for that to happen TC needs to know where to load it from.
Edit: Nevermind, just found out that tcmatch.dll is a TC feature and not you using some memory hacks to run your code ;)[/code]
Last edited by ThiefMaster on 2014-12-24, 13:49 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1929
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

AFAIR you always need to use "tcmatch.dll": (even if you use the 64 bit version of TC)

Code: Select all

tcmatch=%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\tcmatch\tcmatch.dll
ThiefMaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 2003-10-27, 16:49 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ThiefMaster »

nope, doesn't work either - even tried it with a full path instead of %COMMANDER_PATH%
ThiefMaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 2003-10-27, 16:49 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ThiefMaster »

found the problem. 64-bit tc uses `tcmatch64` instead of `tcmatch` for the ini key.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1929
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Well documented in TCs help file. :oops:
F1 > Configuration of wincmd.ini > tcmatch / tcmatch64=
User avatar
xmeron
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2009-06-17, 19:43 UTC

Post by *xmeron »

Hi, Samuel, someone requests a feature, it's useful indeed but i am not sure if it is necessary enough to add to QuickSearch eXtended, so I post here, it is called: Range Select/Filter.

Here is usage examples:
In common situation, we need select/filter some special lines in TC, e.g., line 2, line 8, line 13 to 17, then we can type in QuickSearch eXtended like this:
#2 8 13-17
In complicated situation, we need some lines which end in number 1, such as line 1, line 11, line 21... then we can type:
#?1$     (question mark ? means select lines with Regex)
In other complicated situation, we need select 1 line of every 2 lines, such as line 1, line 3, line 5, line 7, line 9, line 11... then we can type:
#?[13579]$
Above are just rough examples, you can amend to a suitable style and add more functions.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1929
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Nice idea, unfortunately the function does not get all filenames in the directory at once. Instead it is called for each and every file separately. There is no state like: "a new folder is handled now" or "end of content of the current directory".

So it would be hard to implement.
User avatar
xmeron
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2009-06-17, 19:43 UTC

Post by *xmeron »

Yes, so you should evaluate if it's worthy of implementation.
Samuel wrote:So it would be hard to implement.
User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers »

Hello,

I'm having a problem with quicksearch and Windows 10.
I have always used quicksearch with TC 8.51 on Windows 8.1 and it worked flawless. Now I'm using Windows 10 and I noticed that if I use quicksearch on a network share TC crashes. If I use it on local disks then there is no problem. I'm using TC 8.51 64 Bit on Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit. Is this a known issue?
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1929
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

I have no Windows 10 here yet. Do you use any wdx plugins?
Could you enable debug mode and post the tcmatch.log along with your tcmatch.ini?
User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers »

Samuel wrote:I have no Windows 10 here yet. Do you use any wdx plugins?
Could you enable debug mode and post the tcmatch.log along with your tcmatch.ini?
Here is the last bit of the log file :

File: "Welcome to the Rileys"
Filter: "vi"

File: "When In Rome"
Filter: "vi"

File: "White Material"
Filter: "vi"

File: "Wild"
Filter: "vi"

File: "Wild Target"
Filter: "vi"

File: "Wreck-It Ralph"
Filter: "vi"

File: "X-Men Origins - Wolverine"
Filter: "vi"
Unloaded librarys.


And this is the ini file

[general]
simple_search_activate_char=
regex_search_activate_char=?
leven_search_activate_char=<
srch_activate_char=*
preset_activate_char=>
simple_search_match_beginning_activate_char=^
and_separator_char=" "
or_separator_char=|
wdx_separator_char=/
negate_char=!
case_sensitive=0
allow_empty_result=1
filter_files_and_folders=3
match_beginning=0
use_pinyin=0
use_korean=0
[wdx]
debug_output=3
wdx_cache=1000
[gui]
override_search=1
invert_result=0
one_line_gui=1
show_presets=0
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1929
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Strange without any wdx entries and with "filter_files_and_folders=3" no file system calls should be made.

How about disabling the gui?
Does TC or QSX crash?
Is there any message or log entry?
Could you try using Christian Ghislers plugin?
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=173110#173110

Can anyone else reproduce it?
User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers »

Samuel wrote:Strange without any wdx entries and with "filter_files_and_folders=3" no file system calls should be made.

How about disabling the gui?
Does TC or QSX crash?
Is there any message or log entry?
Could you try using Christian Ghislers plugin?
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=173110#173110

Can anyone else reproduce it?
Hello Samuel,

I have disabled the gui still the same error. It looks like TC is crashing. TC is not responding. I'm not getting an error. Would be great if this would be a standard feature in TC 9.
I have tried Christians plugin but can't get that to work. And that one is for first letter search first. And I like yours because it is random.

John
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Try TC 8.52 beta, it may not be related to quick search extended.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
jslegers
Member
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: 2003-07-17, 08:13 UTC

Post by *jslegers »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Try TC 8.52 beta, it may not be related to quick search extended.
Hello Christian,

With 8.52 Beta I also have the issue. Very strange.
I don't know if this a bug in tcmatch, tc or Windows 10.
It is difficult to sort out.

John
Post Reply