This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Async Operations

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
heretic13
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:00 pm    Post subject: Async Operations Reply with quote

Hello.

There is a proposal to make a more comfortable thing - namely, add asynchronous operations.

1. When you start the program from TotalCommander running anti-virus and begins to check the EXE-file (if the file is large - about gigabytes, start-up procedure may take several minutes). Either run UAC. As a result, GUI Total Commader a not available. This is very annoying !!

I think this is wrong. The idea of ​​the manager should be such - launched and forgotten!You can show where some indication that the program is trying to start (so that the user saw it and did not start it again). I suppose to do enough to make the call ShellExecute in a separate thread.

2. When using Microsoft LAN resource list sometimes reading procedure can take a catastrophic time during which the GUI Total Commader unavailable. I also think it's wrong. The user can view clock animation - that the request is processed, but the interface should not be frozen. User seeing something that the network does not respond for a long time free to opt out of the network research.

These two mistakes - remnants of the 20th century. Not serios see such programs in the 21st century.


Last edited by heretic13 on Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heretic13
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you run the EXE-file of the Explorer, the Explorer is not frozen.

So the Explorer works better than Total Commader ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umbra
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 776

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Thousands of MBs big executable files? That sounds like a weird design choice. And what kind of antivirus needs several minutes to scan them on start?
I'm not against your idea, especially if it's easy to implement. It just seems like a weird edge case.

2. True, true. This has been requested many times. TC9 should have some improvements in that area, though. Have you tried that?
_________________
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
heretic13
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not testing it on tc 9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2824
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heretic13 wrote:
I'm not testing it on tc 9

So any complaints are useless
because there will be no more changes to version 8.x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklńrung

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group