Stop asking for confirmation before copying/moving via F5/F6

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
malialicol
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-07-13, 23:56 UTC

Stop asking for confirmation before copying/moving via F5/F6

Post by *malialicol »

This will have been asked a zillion times. But I have changed my PC & while it worked without asking for confirmation on the old one, I can not managed to find the right setting to get this behaviour on my new one. I've searched & searched, but in vain. A pointer would be much appreciated :?
User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4603
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

Hello, malialicol.

Perhaps the needed settings are those under Configuration => Options => Misc. => Get confirmation before ...

HTH,
Karl
User avatar
sidefx88
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 294
Joined: 2007-04-11, 17:07 UTC
Location: Argentina

Post by *sidefx88 »

2karlchen: that option only works when copying dragging/dropping files using mouse, from one panel to other.

2malialicol: look at this post, the part which a user explains how to use an AutoHotKey script which emulates an additional [Enter] each time you press [F5]/[F6] on Total Commander:

http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=43630&highlight=autohotkey++enter

Cheers!
I Love Total Commander!
User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4603
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

Hi, sidefx88.

I had suspected so when looking at the list of available options under "Misc." :wink:
Thanks for undigging this AHK script thread.

Cheers,
Karl
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

While the AHK script mentioned in that thread will certainly work, I would recommend something a little more robust.

Code: Select all

#ifWinActive, ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD

F5::Send, {F5}
F6::Send, {F6}

F5 & F6::
     KeyWait, F6
     Send, {F5}
     WinWaitActive, ahk_class TInpComboDlg
     KeyWait, F5
     Send, % WinActive("ahk_class TInpComboDlg")?"{Enter}":""
     return
F6 & F5::
     KeyWait, F5
     Send, {F6}
     WinWaitActive, ahk_class TInpComboDlg
     KeyWait, F6
     Send, % WinActive("ahk_class TInpComboDlg")?"{Enter}":""
     return
#ifWinActive
This allows you to do a normal F5|F6 copy|move - that allows you to change options without the auto-enter occuring.
And when you press:
F5+F6 - autoCopy, with Enter sent on key-releases.
F6+F5 - autoMove, with Enter sent on key-releases.

Also, before releasing the main Key, be that F5 for Copy or F6 for Move, you still have the option to cancel the action with ESC or clicking [X] to close the dialog.

EDIT: Opposite Behaviour as above.
F5|F6: Copy|Move with AutoEnter
F5&F6: Copy Dialog only.
F6&F5: Move Dialog only.

Code: Select all

Global DEBUG:=TRUE

#ifWinActive, ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
F5 & F6::Send, {F5}
F6 & F5::Send, {F6}
F5::
	Send, {F5}
	WinWaitActive, ahk_class TInpComboDlg
	Send, {Enter}
	return
F6::
	Send, {F6}
	WinWaitActive, ahk_class TInpComboDlg
	Send, {Enter}
	return
#ifWinActive	
Caveat doesn't allow to cancel the auto-Copy|Move as the Copy|Move isn't triggered until F5|F6 is released.

AHK NEWBIE NOTE: To debug|test any of these - without side-effects, change the lines that "Send" {Enter} to "MsgBox".
Last edited by Balderstrom on 2016-07-18, 21:24 UTC, edited 3 times in total.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
hi5
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 551
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Post by *hi5 »

Somewhat related:
Suggestion: copy / move preferences by folder?
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=43113

Am I really the only one interested in such a feature?
User avatar
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 375
Joined: 2009-06-16, 15:24 UTC
Location: SEAu

Teracopy

Post by *Phred »

I've given up on hoping for this option so I've added two icons in the Button Bar, one in green for Copy, the other blue for Move - using integrated Teracopy.

c:\Users\Public\Downloads\PortableApps\TeraCopy\teracopy.exe
Copy *"%L" "%T"
c:\Users\Public\Downloads\PortableApps\TeraCopy\
c:\Users\Public\Downloads\PortableApps\TeraCopy\teracopy.exe
TeraCopy Copy

Mutatis mutandis for Move.

Works a treat.
It's probably possible to assign F5 and F6 to them, but I haven't bothered.
Post Reply