This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Text search in FindFiles, Lister+uLister via F3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 802
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:05 am    Post subject: Text search in FindFiles, Lister+uLister via F3 Reply with quote

I'm not sure whether it's a Total Commander or uLister/other plugins bug, and even whether it happes only to me.

So, in Search results from Find Files, if Lister doesn't use plugins, it's posible in file opened in it to go directly to a text from "Find text:" field of Find Files tool (press F3 or Alt+Shift+F3 to open the file in Lister, then F3 again to go to the text string).

If plugin uLister installed and configured to show some text files, it will not work: after pressing F3, uLister opens a file, and pressing F3 again leads to error:
Code:
---------------------------
Not found:
---------------------------
text
---------------------------
ОК   
---------------------------

Just checked it on *.ini files.

Alternative search method by pressing Ctrl+F and Enter still works in plugin.
_________________
Android 4.0.4 w/o root, Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's definitely a bug in uLister, because ListSearchText() is properly called, with the search string being transfered correctly.

I just checked it in the source.
It's probably a missing initialization procedure for the OiT search, due to "lcs_findfirst" not being recognized.


BTW, is the original author still active?
There are a few other things I'd like to fix and improve.
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract


Last edited by milo1012 on Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:02 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7808
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you should try to write here:
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=28413
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 802
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

milo1012 wrote:
It's definitely a bug in uLister
MVV wrote:
I think you should try to write here:
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=28413
I guess it will be better if moderators will merge topics and delete MVV's and this posts.
_________________
Android 4.0.4 w/o root, Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I just checked the Lister plugin guide, which states:
Code:
lcs_findfirst    Search from the beginning of the first displayed line (not set: find next)

So it's not clear if TC is supposed to omit lcs_findfirst if you use F3 on a newly loaded Lister window after using the "Find text" feature,
or if it's uLister's fault, as it's no able to initialize the search when that flag is missing.
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 33769
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lcs_findfirst is used to reset a search to the beginning of the display area. If it isn't set, the plugin should resume the search from the last result (or the beginning if there isn't any).
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
lIf it isn't set, the plugin should resume the search from the last result (or the beginning if there isn't any).

So uLister isn't supposed to omit results in that case.

In any case, it seems a bit "ambiguous" to me. Authors may assume that they can rely on the flag to initialize their search.
Maybe that part in the wlx guide should be clarified for the next update.


Since it's intended behavior from TC's side, this thread can be moved.
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 802
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC 9 still shows "Not found:" error, which is a sign that it's a plugin problem. But before the topic will be moved to "Behaviour will not be changed" forum, I have a question. The question: can TC detect that plugin doesn't correcly use the API? And even if not, could it help if TC had an option to show Ctrl+F dialog instead of immediate search (which fails in plugin) on F3 keypress? This will allow to use keypress on Enter after F3 to find the word without having to close that "not found" error.
_________________
Android 4.0.4 w/o root, Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 33769
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, TC can just see what the function returns.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group