This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[TC Tool] Save & Restore Color Settings for TC
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
outspoken
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 15
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does my program find the correct ini file?

This was the issue, for the next update you should include text in that area that displays an error when it is red such as "Double-Click here to find .INI"

Quote:
btw. which OS do u have?

I am using Windows 2000 Pro.

Thanks for the help, this program is great! Wink
_________________
Commander Registration #49478
_________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 262
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--- TC Color Preset 1.2 Released ---
I've updated the information on my first post to include the new link.

Apart from the "Large Font Bug" and the added backup on the first run, there's really nothing new to this version compared to the previous beta.
The included preset file now contains 26 presets.

Enjoy Smile
_________________
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
poiuytr
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx!
BTW, when i double click application icon in about form MessageBox popups with digit "1".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 262
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

poiuytr wrote:
BTW, when i double click application icon in about form MessageBox popups with digit "1".

Funny thing, while working on it, I said to myself: "remember to remove that line before the final compile", guess I forgot that Laughing
_________________
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lzvk25
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 182
Location: Collierville, TN

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank You Aezay !!!
I love it.

Very Happy
_________________
Memo to Boss : No TC, No Work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tcmd_rules
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aezay, this is a great tool! I have small problem though. When I use the iniPath=%USERPROFILE%/WinCmd.ini line of the Presets.ini file, the program cannot locate the WinCmd.ini file and it opens a browse dialog to locate it. Am I doing something wrong, or variables are not allowed?

Thanks
Dimitrios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombik
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 155
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Thank You Aezay !!!
I love it."

Second that.Great tool and a big help for me while modding my desk every day Wink

Tombik
_________________
License # 37884 @ TC 7.56a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 262
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tcmd_rules wrote:
I have small problem though. When I use the iniPath=%USERPROFILE%/WinCmd.ini line of the Presets.ini file, the program cannot locate the WinCmd.ini file and it opens a browse dialog to locate it. Am I doing something wrong, or variables are not allowed?

No, environment variables are not allowed. Why don't you just browse to the path of your WinCmd.ini, and that path is remembered the next time you start the program.
_________________
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tcmd_rules
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aezay wrote:
tcmd_rules wrote:
I have small problem though. When I use the iniPath=%USERPROFILE%/WinCmd.ini line of the Presets.ini file, the program cannot locate the WinCmd.ini file and it opens a browse dialog to locate it. Am I doing something wrong, or variables are not allowed?

No, environment variables are not allowed. Why don't you just browse to the path of your WinCmd.ini, and that path is remembered the next time you start the program.


Aezay, thanks for replying. Pointing to the right WinCmd.ini file only for the first execution of the program is just fine. The only thing, I believe, is a weekness is that in my PC each user has a different WinCmd.ini stored under %USEPROFILE% and therefore another user's WinCmd.ini might be used.

In any case there are quite a few of solutions to avoid using the wrong ini file. Thanks again for this great tool.

Dimitrios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 33858
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try
iniPath=%USERPROFILE%\WinCmd.ini
instead of
iniPath=%USERPROFILE%/WinCmd.ini

Also make sure that the directory is accessible when TC starts, e.g. when it is on a network drive. You may need to call "net use" first.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tcmd_rules
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Try
iniPath=%USERPROFILE%\WinCmd.ini
instead of
iniPath=%USERPROFILE%/WinCmd.ini

Also make sure that the directory is accessible when TC starts, e.g. when it is on a network drive. You may need to call "net use" first.


Unfortunatelly, this didn't work either. The program still requires to use an absolute filename in the iniPath variable. What I would suggest to Aezay, though, it would be to get its value from the appropriate HKCU registry value. Either way, it's a great tool, for a great program.

Thanks for your suggestion,
Dimitrios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aezay
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 262
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2tcmd_rules
I'm just gonna throw the string through the ExpandEnvironmentStrings API function, this should make it work Wink
Look back here when I release the next version.
_________________
Of all the planets I've been to, this one is my favorite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tcmd_rules
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aezay wrote:
2tcmd_rules
I'm just gonna throw the string through the ExpandEnvironmentStrings API function, this should make it work Wink
Look back here when I release the next version.


Aezay, thanks a lot for looking at this! Wink

Dimitrios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 16 Jun 2009
Posts: 217
Location: SEAu

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:06 pm    Post subject: Darko Reply with quote

I was scanning the forum for colour-changing references so that I could establish a night-time 'black' theme - dark, at least - and found this thread.
Unfortunately, all links to alternative plug-ins or ini settings have disappeared.
Only 14 years, and they've gone.. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3236
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Unfortunately, all links to alternative plug-ins or ini settings have disappeared.

Take a look at totalcmd.net and search for "preset".
This reveals some color preset tools.
Never tried them though ...

... and don't forget to make a backup of wincmd.ini first Exclamation
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group