This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

tar catalog browser has catalog size limit?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hansl
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 7:30 am    Post subject: tar catalog browser has catalog size limit? Reply with quote

When descending into a large tar archive with TC 8.51a, only a fraction of its true contents is listed. Is there some size limit?

My tar in question was created with GNU/Linux tar, it is 63 GiB large (66678138880 bytes) and contains 281526 files; its catalog (tar -tvf) is 33474655 bytes large.

A “smaller” tar with 41 GiB / 168920 files / 20296720 bytes catalog seems to get listed correctly by TC. Takes some time, of course.

(To further simplify things: Here, TC is running under Wine in a Linux workstation accessing that tar via a CIFS share on a Linux server…)

(If it is any consolation: Directly in the server, MidnightCommanders tar browser also can't browse this large tar, but can browse the smaller tar. While the GNU/Linux tar -xvf or tar -tvf works correctly with it. )

Thanks, Hans
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirantali
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 31 Jul 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:33 pm    Post subject: It's a bit more serious than only not listing Reply with quote

This Bug is still present in 9.0a but it's not that content isn't correctly listed, it's that content is lost.

It also happens already around 45GB or perhaps even earlier because it restores only 8GB of the 45GB TAR, so the size of the TAR matches the content put into the TAR, but only around 8GB are really in the TAR.

And it's not only the listing that doesn't match, the content is really missing. This can be tested by restoring the whole TAR and seeing that only what was visibly listed was really restored, everything else is lost.

So TC probably corrupts the TAR's if they become to big eg. 8GB is stored but TAR gets 45GB big.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34310
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So TC probably corrupts the TAR's if they become to big eg. 8GB is stored but TAR gets 45GB big.

You mean you created the TAR with Total Commander? When unpacking, TC does not modify the TAR.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nirantali
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 31 Jul 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it does create the TAR but 90% of the content is missing and can't be unpacked. Like i pack an 50GB Folder, the resulting TAR is 50GB big, but only 8GB is really in that TAR and also only 8GB is unpacked, the other 42GB are not visible and not unpacked. So it is corrupted on create.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group