This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

F7 - Visual difference between x32 and x64 TC versions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:31 am    Post subject: F7 - Visual difference between x32 and x64 TC versions Reply with quote

Place TC window at the center of the screen (i tested in 1920x1080).
Assuming there are a lot of items in F7 history combo box (40 items).
Press F7 to expand the combobox.

Win7x32: a vertical scrollbar appears in the expanded combobox
Win7x64: a vertical scrollbar does not appear in the expanded combobox

Set Settings \ Fonts \ DPI to 120 (the issue becomes more obvious that way) and retry the above steps.

You will now notice that in x64 version, the expanded combobox covers almost all of the F7 dialog. It does not open above or below the dialog but over it.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3130
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirm. Same with Shift+F4 (if there are many lines).
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's because the number of lines configured for the dropdown combobox isn't the same. I will check it.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
It's because the number of lines configured for the dropdown combobox isn't the same. I will check it.


I don't know how it's done now but it would probably look better if it was dynamic, depending on the vertical resolution of the screen.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This should be fixed in TC 9.10 beta 3, please test it!
I'm using a fixed number of max. 30 entries now.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, yes, this is OK, it seems there are more differences though. I'm not sure if these should be considered bugs or if we're just stretching things too much, but both the F7 dialog and the main panel have some visual differences (in x32, DPI=200, i notice larger buttons in main window, overlapping buttons in F7 window, maybe others).

Are you interested in that type of differences?

https://imgur.com/a/T4HAJ

LEFT: x64 - RIGHT: x32
1: Larger buttons
2: Overlapping buttons in x32
3: Different dialog height

EDIT: OK, the cause of those differences is the fact that the main window is not (properly?) updated when "apply" is pressed in Options. If you close and reopen both versions after changing the settings, everything seems similar (minor differences). Things seem pretty different from 9.0a though.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for confirming the fix of the original issue!

Regarding your other complaints:
1. I cannot confirm any difference between 32-bit and 64-bit, I get larger buttons for both. I think I should link their size to the main window font size, not to the dialog box scaling factor.

2. Sorry, this cannot be avoided. The items are scaled proportionally, so it can lead to rounding errors.

3. Delphi and Lazarus calculate dialog height differently, so it cannot be avoided, sorry.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As i said:

wanderer wrote:
I'm not sure if these should be considered bugs or if we're just stretching things too much


These are not actually bugs and perhaps even discussing them is nitpicking.

Regarding (1) though, i think the key is this:

wanderer wrote:
The cause of those differences is the fact that the main window is not (properly?) updated when "apply" is pressed in Options. If you close and reopen both versions after changing the settings, everything seems similar.


The main window (size of buttons) is not updated when you press OK in options. You have to close and reopen TC to see the buttons adjusted to the new DPI. That's what originally confused me because i changed the setting in an open TCx64, then started the x32 and noticed the differences. I don't consider this to be a bug necessarily, but it might be a good idea to refresh the main window as well, when OK or Apply is pressed in Options (if this is possible).

Again though, there are differences between 9.0a and the betas. In 9.0a, the vertical size of the buttons is also enlarged. In the betas, only the horizontal is enlarged. Is this intentional?
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The main window is scaled with the main window font, not with the dialog box font.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
The main window is scaled with the main window font, not with the dialog box font.


OK, but when the DPI is changed, the width of some buttons in the main window is changed too. This is not reflected immediately. You have to restart TC to see it.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, yes, they are resized only when created. For now I will not change it, it would need far too many code changes and many additional weeks of beta testing...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1230
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Ah, yes, they are resized only when created. For now I will not change it, it would need far too many code changes and many additional weeks of beta testing...


OK, it's not that big of a problem, it just confused me during the test because i hadn't realized it works that way.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Latest TC / Win7x64 SP1 / WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group