This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Error message window

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gral
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 520

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:17 am    Post subject: Error message window Reply with quote

New error message dialog windows, eg.: "Access denied!" or "File not found!" looks very strange.
If OS and TC language is the same (polish in my case) similar message is displayed twice.
if languages are different (OS - PL vs. TC - EN) first message is in english but second (as i guess from OS) still in Polish.

gral.y0.pl/tc/not_found.png

EDIT - Use page instead image
http://gral.y0.pl/tc/not_found.htm


Last edited by Gral on Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:32 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 928
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:14 am    Post subject: Re: Error message window Reply with quote

Gral wrote:
http://gral.y0.pl/tc/not_found.png
Click on the link in browser makes it go to cba.pl/cba-hotlink.jpg.
Manual Copy+Paste of the link to the browser's address bar is required to see the not_found.png picture.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gral
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 520

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gral.y0.pl/tc/not_found.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5715
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is NOT a bug! It's the result of my suggestion, to make TC say something more meaningful instead of just "Access denied". See here Meaningful error message when program start fails

The first part of the message you see is from TC itself (its language files) and the second part is from your OS. That's why the first part changes language when you change TC language, but the second part stays the same.

PS: Your image hoster doesn't like external deep links when the referer is not on his domain.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Gral
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 520

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is intentional, i don't claim that's "bug",
but it's looks very strange (especially quotation marks) and still does not explain anything - why there is access denied? What is mean?
Which one file is "not found"?

Saying the same twice does not change anything!

PS. it's not "image hoster" - it's host site and i forget about issues with hotlinking to images.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5715
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gral wrote:
I know this is intentional, i don't claim that's "bug"

Well, you created it in the bugs subforum, so I assume you think it's a bug.

Quote:
but it's looks very strange (especially quotation marks)

It may look strange, but removing the quotes wouldn't change anything in that respect, would it? It would look even weirder.

Quote:
and still does not explain anything - why there is access denied?

That's up to you to find out. The OS won't tell you why (although it could). Explorer would show the same message (except the first TC part, of course). The message contents depend on the situation.

The error message will be really helpful when you try to execute a 16 bit application on 64 bit Windows, a 64 bit application on 32 bit Windows or an application that's meant for Win7+ on XP. Because then it won't just say "Access denied" anymore but add the same message Explorer would show - which contains the explanation that it won't work and why.

Quote:
Which one file is "not found"?

The one you double-clicked on or worked with in any other way, I guess. It depends on what you were doing before the message popped up.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, that's all I get back from Windows as an error.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group