This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

tc does not restart after installation

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:48 pm    Post subject: tc does not restart after installation Reply with quote

tc does not restart after installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed. Please give me more details, e.g.
- Windows version
- 32-bit or 64-bit
- error message you get
- error in Windows error log
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Win 10 and 7
64b
nothing
nothing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be an antivirus or anti-malware software. These often block programs after an update, because they see that the EXE file has changed.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have disabled any antivirus or anti-malware software.
Does anyone else have this same problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikefield
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Feb 2006
Posts: 620
Location: Oberursel, Germany HE

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never saw it, that the Total Commander restarts after an update.
I missed this feature long time ago.
Is there a switch in the wincmd.ini to activate it?

mf
_________________
Bankster - Word of the Year 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I understand it, the thread starter could not restart Total Commander (manually) after applying the update.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mikefield
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Feb 2006
Posts: 620
Location: Oberursel, Germany HE

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
As I understand it, the thread starter could not restart Total Commander (manually) after applying the update.

Ah, OK, thanks Christian for clarification.
How do you think about an automatic restart after an update?

mf
_________________
Bankster - Word of the Year 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This isn't currently possible, because the installer is run with higher user rights, so TC would be run this way too.

I would have to completely rewrite the installer to run with normal user rights, and only request higher rights when needed (just like Total Commander itself with tcadmin). This is planned, but very time consuming, so I haven't had the time yet.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10686
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
Is it not possible to run a program with normal rights from a program with admin rights?

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't find any, no.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group