This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Display problem when remotely connecting with Custom Scaling

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:27 am    Post subject: Display problem when remotely connecting with Custom Scaling Reply with quote

Since updating to Windows 10 Fall Creators Update I'm having a problem using TC on my Desktop PC when connecting to it from my laptop using Remote Desktop. This only occurs when I use a custom display scaling of 120% or less on my laptop (125% or 100% work fine).

I've tested it on 9.10 as well as the latest 9.12RC and both show the same behaviour. I have some other minor issues with 120% custom scaling within Windows since the Fall update so it might well be a Microsoft rather than a TC issue.

120%: https://i.imgur.com/WDPNQmn.jpg
125%: https://i.imgur.com/UnnsEoy.jpg


Last edited by argh0815 on Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:46 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to be a duplicate report:
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=48829

So far I cannot reproduce it. Can you try to log out and back in after changing the DPI scaling?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logging out and back in doesn't change it. Let me try to be a bit more clear as to what I'm doing:

Desktop, Windows 10 FCU:
Single monitor with 2560*1440, 100% scaling.

Laptop, Windows 10 FCU:
Laptop display with 1920*1080, 120% scaling.

I'm connecting remotely from the laptop to the desktop PC with Remote Desktop Connection. Then I start TC on the desktop PC via Remote Desktop. The screenshots show what I see on my laptop in the Remote Desktop window. The issue only occurs when I use a custom scaling of 120% on my laptop, if I use 125%, everything works fine.

Just tested it with 9.0a and that one works fine with 120%.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

9.0a doesn't support custom resizing, it will appear blurred because it's resized by Windows. You can use this mode also in TC 9.1x by adding
DpiPerScreen=0
to the wincmd.ini under [Configuration]. But the goal would be to get this to work somehow with correct DPI scaling. It's just a big mess how this is handled by Windows 10. Sad
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, understood, thanks a lot for the feedback!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does Total Commander look OK when you close and re-open it? So far I still couldn't reproduce the problem...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, it still has these big gaps between title bar, menu bar and the file windows after closing and re-opening. As you suggested DpiPerScreen=0 helped to restore the 9.0a behaviour in 9.10, i.e. a bit blurry but no gaps.

I somehow think some bug was introduced with the Fall Creators Update when it comes to custom scaling at 120%, e.g. my action center shows only 3 quick actions per line with a gap on the right side, instead of 4: https://i.imgur.com/WHLYI3p.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you let me know the screen size and scaling of the target system (not the laptop), e.g. 1920x1080 with 125% scaling?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried with two different target systems, both of them showing the same symptom:
System A: 2560x1440 with 100% scaling
System B: 1920x1200 with 100% scaling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I could reproduce it! It's a bug in Windows 10 itself when displaying the main menu.

You can see a similar bug in notepad.exe - the menu bar is only 1 pixel high, the same as in TC 32-bit. Both use normal, not owner-drawn menu.

In TC 64-bit, which uses owner-drawn menu bar, the bar is >2500 pixels high, although Total Commander reports the correct menu item sizes!

You can turn off custom scaling by setting
DpiPerScreen=0
as described above. I will try to switch to this mode automatically when detecting the bug.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the thorough investigation, much appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now made the following changes in RC4 when DpiPerScreen=1 is enabled:
1. When TC 32-bit or 64-bit is launched during the remote session, it will launch as if DpiPerScreen=0 were set.

2. When TC 64-bit is launched locally and then the user connects via remote session, TC 64-bit will launch another copy of itself and close - if no file operation is active or dialog box is open. Otherwise it will show a warning to the user that he should restart Total Commander.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
argh0815
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works like a charm, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group