cd ::{GUID} doesn't work in TC's Command line

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

cd ::{GUID} doesn't work in TC's Command line

Post by *DrShark »

For example, a button with cd command and GUID/CLSID path mentioned in this post works in a button, but doesn't work in command line.

Note: on user side, it's possible to work this around by creating the user command which will go to such path, and an alias for it, like this:

Code: Select all

[Alias]
cd ::{{GUID}}=em_MyDesiredPath
Then cd to such path will work in command line too.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

May I suggest this:

Make em_command:

Code: Select all

[em_mycd]
cmd=cd
param=%A
and alias:

Code: Select all

[Alias]
cd=em_mycd
Then you can cd to any GUID from the command line...
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Post by *DrShark »

2petermad
Thanks, it seems that it works!

If cd alias created with this method will be proved as fully compatible with internal cd command, I'will use it.

Still, I think behavior described in 1st post may be considered as a bug or a thing that may be improved to make TC's command line more compatible with buttons/user commands.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

a thing that may be improved to make TC's command line more compatible with buttons/user commands
I agree, it should not be necessary with this workaround!
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Update:

The workaround I suggested has the disadvantage that for example cd %systemroot% does NOT work anymore.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Post by *DrShark »

petermad wrote:Update:

The workaround I suggested has the disadvantage that for example cd %systemroot% does NOT work anymore.
Yes, which means the workaround from first post is more reliable, although it requires a separate alias for each GUID.

The reason of not working variable in a workaround with usercommand and %A parameter probably described in this topic (as noted in newer posts there, using %%var%% instead of %var% in Parameters doesn't work for cd command either, so currently no solution.)
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

There will be some improvements in the next TC version which I have already implemented:
1. cd ::{} will work also in command line and as command line parameters.
2. Special shell folders like shell:::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99}
will also work, both in the above form:
cd shell:::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99}
and the shortened form:
cd ::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99}
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Great news :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
chandragor
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 2005-06-01, 10:10 UTC
Location: Italy

Post by *chandragor »

ghisler(Author) wrote:
There will be some improvements in the next TC version which I have already implemented:
Next TC version ? When it wil be out ? When ? When ?

Opps, sorry, please forgive me. I had a sudden seizure of maddening curiosity, but it's all over now. :D
Happy owner of license #12422 since 1997
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Difficult to say - there are still a lot of bug reports I have to go through, and fixing them is terribly slow (max 3-4 per day).
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This should be fixed in TC 9.20 beta 1, please test it!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14739
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Confirmed fixed in TC 9.20b1 :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1872
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262
Contact:

Post by *DrShark »

history920.txt wrote:13.03.18 Added: Command line parameters: Support switching to virtual folders via GUID, e.g. for drive list, use /L=::{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D} (32/64)
13.03.18 Added: Command line: support switching to virtual folders via GUID, e.g. for drive list, use cd ::{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D} (32/64)
13.03.18 Added: Button bar: support shell GUIDs, e.g. to go to Explorer's recent dirs, use cd ::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99} (32/64)
Yes, it works now in a command line and as a parameter for totalcmd.exe now (tried on Vista 32-bit). Explanation for button bar addition (from email):
Christian Ghisler wrote:Not all shell URLs work in button bar in TC 9.x. For example, "Recent places":
cd ::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99}
does not work in TC 9.12, but does work in the beta. That's because the Windows function ParseDisplayName fails with this URL. It has to be passed to it with shell prefix, in the form:
shell::{22877a6d-37a1-461a-91b0-dbda5aaebc99}
Total Commander 9.2 beta does this automatically now.
I didn't try all possible known guids, so I think it's better not to move the topic to fixed bugs until beta test will be finished: it is still possible that some GUIDs users expect to work may still not work.
Donate for Ukraine to help stop Russian invasion!
Ukraine's National Bank special bank account:
UA843000010000000047330992708
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13052
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

DrShark,
I think it's better not to move the topic to fixed bugs until beta test will be finished: it is still possible that some GUIDs users expect to work may still not work.
In that case I'd suggest opening a new thread, possibly referencing this thread. Otherwise we will forget about this thread and never move it.

Hacker (Moderator)
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Post Reply