Simultaneus tab changing

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
pielgrzym
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-03, 17:00 UTC

Simultaneus tab changing

Post by *pielgrzym »

Hello,

is there a way (a hotkey ;) ) to change both panels' tabs at one time? I mean - if I press Ctrl+TAB I swap the tab in the active panel - can I make them swap in both panels? :)

Thanks for help :)
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2pielgrzym
No, there is not way to do it, but TC can change folders synchronously with the cm_SyncChangeDir command.
An AutoHotkey script is able to do what you want to achieve, tell us if you are interested.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
pielgrzym
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-03, 17:00 UTC

Post by *pielgrzym »

An AutoHotkey script is able to do what you want to achieve, tell us if you are interested.
Thanks fo reply SanskritFritz :) to execute the script I need an external program? I would like to have the ability to use the option when TC is launched from portable device :)

It's alittle OT, but related to TC - is there a way to check which application is holding a certain global hotkey? The combination Ctrl+F3 doesnt work on my home os - had similar problem with other hotkeys and I discovered the they were used by my IM (yet, didn't execute any visible action, due to uninstalling certain IM plugs).

Thanks for help :)
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

to execute the script I need an external program?
You could compile the script to an exe, thus it would be no problem to use it with a portable device.

Another workaround may be the Favourites you can access with [Ctrl]+[d] - there you can save a folder and the target folder in the opposite pane, too.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
pielgrzym
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-03, 17:00 UTC

Post by *pielgrzym »

2Sheepdog

Could you guide me how to do this? Never played around with scripts (yeah, I'm a crappy lazy admin :P) is this got something to do with windows scripting? Or are you talking about a program thats kind of recording your actions and then replaying them? :)

Thanks for help :)

EDIT: As for Ctrl+D - I'm using it very often - it has only one disadvantage - it can't open both panels in new tabs - it always opens in existing tabs. Furthermore if I use it on different machine I will have to play around with setting up things first :) I really hope in near future there will be a support for hard drive indexing software - this would solvea lot of mine problems :)

EDIT2: Well, doublechecked the hotlist can open in new tabs :roll: yet it's more difficult to switch between 'pairs of tabs' in a convenient manner, so the solution for this would be a really great thing :)
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

You may use the following script:
; If you press [Ctrl]+[tab] you switch in the active panel to the next Tab.
;
; The following script allows to switch the Tabs in both panels simultaneously
; by pressing [Altgr]+[Ctrl]+[Tab] (or [Altgr]+[Ctrl]+[Shift]+[Tab] to cycle backwards)
;
; The "<^>!Tab::" defines the hotkey
; The "IfWinActive" command checks if Total Commander is the active Window.
; "Postmessage...." If yes then send cm_SwitchToNextTab (code 3005)
; wait a moment ( 100 milliseconds)
; send "Tab" to switch to the other Panel
; "Postmessage...." sithc the other panel to the next tab with cm_SwitchToNextTab (code 3005)
; wait a moment ( 100 milliseconds)
; send "Tab" to switch back to the 'starting' Panel
; ready
; "<^>!Tab::" same procedure for shift with cm_switchToPreviousTab



<^>!Tab::


IfWinActive ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
{
PostMessage, 1075, 3005, , , ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
sleep,100
send, {Tab}
PostMessage, 1075, 3005, , , ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
sleep,100
send, {Tab}
}
return

<^>!+Tab::

IfWinActive ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
{
PostMessage, 1075, 3006, , , ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
sleep,100
send, {Tab}
PostMessage, 1075, 3006, , , ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
sleep,100
send, {Tab}
}
return
To compile the script go to the AutoHotkey site and download the zipped version instead the installer. It contains a file "AHK2Exe.exe". Run this compiler and a GUI appears that lets you make an exefile from this script.

You may delete the leading lines that start with ";". These are only comments to explain how the script works.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
pielgrzym
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-03, 17:00 UTC

Post by *pielgrzym »

Thanks Sheepdog!! Works great! :)
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2Sheepdog
Impressive tutorial, Partner :-)
It should make its way to the wiki ;-)
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

SanskritFritz wrote:2Sheepdog
Impressive tutorial, Partner :-)
Thanks for the compliment, Partner.
It should make its way to the wiki ;-)
Done. ;)

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
Post Reply