New SFTP plugin available now

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
Joe_Cool
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-08-18, 00:14 UTC

Post by *Joe_Cool »

This plugin is really great. Works fine.
The only thing on my wishlist would be an option needed for our server:

We have configured private key login (which works fine using pageant).
In order to use sftp with root rights we would need to start the remote sftp server with this command line: sudo /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server
WinSCP has an option for that under advanced -> environment -> sftp -> SFTP server.
Is it possible to add it to this plugin too?
thomasmkramer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-10-19, 11:42 UTC

libeay32.dll and libssh2.dll not found

Post by *thomasmkramer »

Hello,
I getting lost in installing the SFTP. The plugin itself gets installed nicely and is recognized by TC. The two DLLs libeay32.dll and libssh2.dll are reported as missing once I try to establish a connection, no matter where I put them and no matter if I use the 32 or the 64 bit version. I started with the 32bit DLLs in

Code: Select all

..\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\
and the 64bit DLLs in

Code: Select all

..\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\x64 
one at a time or both present.

As nothing seems to work I tried a number of combinations of just one set or both sets in:

Code: Select all

..\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\
..\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\x64
..\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\
..\Total Commander
I'm using the 32 and 64 bit cURL 7.42.0 version from http://www.confusedbycode.com/curl/#downloads
(and tried some other releases as well but only more or less recent ones)
May there be an issue with this actual release or am I missing something. I was unable to try an older release of the files as they are only as source code on the servers and I can't compile them myself.

I'm running
WIN7 on a 64 bit Intel CPU
TC 8.51a 64 bit

Any help is welcome. Thanks in advance

Thomas
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9388
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

2thomasmkramer
You may need other DLLs like zlib1.dll, too, as was mentioned a couple of times (in this thread as well as in other threads). The plugin itself doesn't need it, but libssh2.dll does.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48083
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

2Joe_Cool
Have you tried to send
sudo /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server
via the Total Commander command line once you are logged in? It should work.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Joe_Cool
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-08-18, 00:14 UTC

Post by *Joe_Cool »

I think I tried that. Other commands seem to work fine, but that one doesn't.

from the totalcmd log, when trying to change dir afterwards:

Code: Select all

Quote: sudo /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server
Get directory: \root
Directory not opened: Failed opening remote file
It looks like sftp-server wont spawn when it's already running in a session
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

Get directory: \root
Hey this is Linux : Use forward slash there "/root"
#5767 Personal license
Joe_Cool
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-08-18, 00:14 UTC

Post by *Joe_Cool »

sqa_wizard wrote:
Get directory: \root
Hey this is Linux : Use forward slash there "/root"
That was not manual input, it's what the SFTP plugin outputs.
It's the same format '\' for directories where you have access.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48083
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Maybe you can do it by killing the server first?
sudo killall sftp-server ; sudo /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

Just make sure to send it as one command and not two, otherwise the server would be gone before you can restart it.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Joe_Cool
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-08-18, 00:14 UTC

Post by *Joe_Cool »

Good idea, sadly it didn't work:

Code: Select all

Quote: ps
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
23286 ?        00:00:00 sshd
[...]
31066 ?        00:00:00 sshd
31067 ?        00:00:00 sftp-server
31072 ?        00:00:00 bash
31073 ?        00:00:00 ps
Quote: kill 31067 ; sudo /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server
Quote: ps
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
23286 ?        00:00:00 sshd
[...]
31066 ?        00:00:00 sshd
31151 ?        00:00:00 bash
31152 ?        00:00:00 ps
Get directory: \root
Directory not opened: Would block waiting for status message
sftp-server won't restart and all directory operations afterwards hang with an endless progress bar.
I think sftp-server must really be spawned by sshd itself to work properly:
man sftp-server wrote: sftp-server is not
intended to be called directly, but from sshd(8) using the Subsystem
option.
I don't know much about the internals of ssh though.
Thanks for your help.
peg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2006-12-01, 09:22 UTC

sFtp Download/Upload in background as default

Post by *peg »

Secure FTP plugin. Is it possible to have option "Download/Upload in background (separate thread)" checked on as default?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48083
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

No, unfortunately not, sorry.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 292
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *Thany »

Doesn't work for me.

When I create a new connection and hit OK, it doesn't appear in the list. It's just gone.

I've installed the plugin and put the dlls from curl in the same directory as per the instructions:

c:\Program Files (x86)\totalcmd\plugins\sftp\:
curl.exe
libcurl.dll
libeay32.dll
librtmp.dll
libssh2.dll
pluginst.inf
readme.txt
sftpplug.wfx
sftpplug.wfx64
ssleay32.dll
zlib1.dll

And THEN installed it, picking the .wfx64 item. This is how I understood the (very brief) instructions. How can I make it work? I'm using Windows 7 x64 and TC 8.51a x64.
Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 292
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *Thany »

Also why:
1) ..would anyone ever enter a public key? The connecting client has no use for them. Only the server needs those.
2) ..would the private key need to be a .pem file? why not a .dsa or .rsa file? When I use ssh (from cygwin, or on linux) I can pass it an rsa/dsa private key perfectly fine.
3) ..would anyone leave using SCP unticked, if it's faster? What's the benefit of leaving a connection deliberately slower?
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

c:\Program Files (x86)
As per design of Windows normal users (even administrators) don't have write permissions to files at this folder and all subfolders.
This affects the sftpplug.ini at totalcmd folder too (which stores the connections).
You have to add write permissions to this file for your user.

BTW: It is a very bad idea to install TC at this very restricted folder. You will run into much more problems due to this.
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9388
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

2sqa_wizard
Are you sure sftpplug.ini is located in TC's directory? My guess is that it's saved in the same directory as wincmd.ini. And the latter is placed in %AppData%\Ghisler on Vista and later by default. So, I guess it's only an issue if the location of wincmd.ini is changed during TC's installation.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
Post Reply