New SFTP plugin available now

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
CoolWater
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 734
Joined: 2003-03-27, 16:33 UTC

Post by *CoolWater »

2ghisler(Author)

as I stated above, the error occurs BEFORE mv command is sent:

Code: Select all

Umbenennen von: \mnt\usb\Test\1\Signatur.htm
Umbenennen nach:\mnt\usb\Test\1\../m
Quote: mv /mnt/usb/Test/1/Signatur.htm /mnt/usb/Test/1/../m 
So for me, the error is in the plugin and not on server side.

HTH
CoolWater
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Strange, the plugin should have no influence. I will try to check it in the debugger. Did you just enter .. or something with wild cards like ../* or so?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
CoolWater
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 734
Joined: 2003-03-27, 16:33 UTC

Post by *CoolWater »

- go to a folder and create a subfolder, folder name is not relevant. (here: /mnt/usb/Test/1)
- copy some files to the newly created folder
- select at least 2 files and press shift+F6 (inline renaming)
- new destination: ../*.* (which is in my case: /mnt/usb/Test)

all moved files will have a wrong filename (a, v, p, etc.). I also observed that some files disappeared totally, i.e. nether existing in orginal folder nor in destination folder! I.e. this seems to happen when selecting 5 files. Here, only 3 files will be moved, with wrong name as stated above. The other 2 files disappeared.
For steps to reproduce, see above.
bebbo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 2009-06-24, 08:22 UTC

Post by *bebbo »

This is not a bug of the plugin - it's a bug of total commander itself and also observed if using the SFTP4TC plugin.

It also occurs during copying. And with the SFTP4TC plugin you see the commands executed:

Code: Select all

get "/home/bebbo/test/pom.xml" "C:\Users\bebbo\AppData\Local\Temp\sft77FF.tmp"
put "C:\Users\bebbo\AppData\Local\Temp\sft77FF.tmp" "/home/bebbo/test/../l"
So 6 letters are missing, since ../*.* has also length 6 it smells like a bug in TCMD

Bebbo
SFTP4TC - sftp based on PuTTY
report tickets at https://sf.net/p/sftp4tc/tickets
ZSTDWCX - zstd packer http://franke.ms/packer/zstd.wiki
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Ah, now I see, I only tried with a single file. Indeed Shift+F6 doesn't support moving to relative folders - the path is seen as part of the wildcards, which cuts the start if the name.

I will try to support it in TC9.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
vecernik
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-04-20, 08:05 UTC

sending NOOP in SFTP

Post by *vecernik »

Hello,
I am very happy user of purchased TC. Recently i started using SFTP plugin (by Ghisler) which works very well. However, there is a little issue with keeping connection alive.
Would it be possible to add checkbox for "noop" command similar to internal FTP interface? At the moment SFTP connection will die after few minutes and it take pretty long time to reconnect (TC waiting for response etc...). I could not find any way to avoid this except manual disconnect after each upload.

Please, if you can implement this feature, I would appreciate it a lot. (And I believe I am not only one struggling with this)
Thank you,
Pavel Cernik
User avatar
Mikefield
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 2006-02-26, 19:13 UTC
Location: Oberursel, Germany HE

Post by *Mikefield »

Have another question. Today I tried to "su root" over the TC command line, but it doesn't work. The problem was, the user I logged in had no rights to copy the messages file. I changed then the rights of the file. But if I can login with admin over the plugin and then su to root over the TC command would be helpfully.

mf
Bankster - Word of the Year 2009
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I don't think that this can work: SFTP uses a different SSH session than command lines you send from TC. So even if su root would work, the SFTP session wouldn't be affected.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
SailorMax
Member
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: 2007-03-15, 15:11 UTC

Post by *SailorMax »

@ghisler(Author) just question: Why you did not join SFTP plugin with built-in FTP function?

Plugins have to be for not required functions. But if you made built-in FTP, then in XXI centry you have to built-in SFTP support :) Will be good competitor to WinSCP.

"SFTP4TC based on PuTTY" more looks like plugin. But your SFTP plugin just has to be built-in :)

If look at TC9b1, which more looks like 8.6, you made almost ideal product. Nothing to add more. Except SFTP ;)
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

FTP and SFTP only have the name in common, they are completely different things. It was not possible to integrate the two, sorry. FTPS is FTP over SSL, and therefore integrated into the normal FTP client.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
SailorMax
Member
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: 2007-03-15, 15:11 UTC

Post by *SailorMax »

they are completely different things
This is technical answer.

From user side - both technologies allow to open remote computer with different methods. From user side - if TC built-in allows to connect to server files via FTP(S), strange that connect to SFTP it doesn't has built-in.
Author of WinSCP understand this and made transparent for user solution. I encourage you to do the same.
vecernik
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-04-20, 08:05 UTC

Post by *vecernik »

sailorMax - I believe this is due to licencing. Ghisler use opensource libraries (curl - libssh2) and it is possible its not legal to include it in paid non-opensource product.
Even if the plugin is integrated, people would have to still download the library by themselves like now and thats almost the same - one or two downloads does not make difference.
SailorMax
Member
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: 2007-03-15, 15:11 UTC

Post by *SailorMax »

@vecernik

1. Based on story with FoxBurner, author can use paid components: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=142531#142531

2. if make SFTP support via putty, for example, it can be free (if I correct understood: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/licence.html )

3. The great application (TC) has built-in support of old and not secured FTP. But modern and secured protocols offer to use via plugins => via Network "Drive", instead of directly via menu/toolbar. For old unsupported programs, like WinAmp it is ok. But for actively maintained and updated program it is strange situation. (just mine opinion)
glipman
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005-02-09, 20:59 UTC

Post by *glipman »

It seems the required OpenSSH DLLs are no longer available at https://curl.haxx.se/download.html

Is there an alternative?
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9365
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

2glipman
The files themselves are still available, although they're not listed on the site. Here's the last version I know of:
7.40.0, 32 bit DLLs
7.40.0, 64 bit DLLs

Perhaps they're not listed anymore because they're a little bit old (January 2015).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
Post Reply