Wrong cd when * is in FTP password

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Wrong cd when * is in FTP password

Post by *MVV »

E.g. I'm trying to add hotlist item with command:

Code: Select all

cd ftp://anonymous:alpha*45@192.168.56.101/incoming/src/
Where anonymous is login, alpha*45 is password. TC treats this path not like FTP connection path but like panel filter mask so I get path in current panel like:

Code: Select all

D:\ftp://anonymous:alpha*45@192.168.56.101/incoming/src/

It is great that TC allows to change filter using cd command but in this case it is expected that TC will create FTP connection if path starts with ftp://.
Last edited by MVV on 2010-08-19, 19:05 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Shouldn't that be:

Code: Select all

cd ftp://anonymous:alpha*45@192.168.56.101/incoming/src/
Note the @ sign.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Of course it is '@' character instead of last ':', its my misprint, corrected.

But problem exists anyway.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I see - unfortunately there is a conflict here, where * is used to find position of filter mask. Any ideas on how to solve this conflict?

Btw, it's a VERY bad idea to store clear text passwords in buttons...
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

I know that idea is bad, I've just reported a bug that I found accidentally. In that case FTP was on virtual machine and I connected to it from host using virtual network.

I think TC should detect blablabla:// strings in paths since such strings determine protocol used for address (http, ftp, file etc). Now AFAIK TC supports only ftp protocol (and maybe file) so for other protocols TC may show error message or just execute link.
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8702
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

Thanks, fixed in 7.56! :)
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks! Just make sure to append a forward slash to the URL when there is no subdir (in the root), so TC can recognize it correctly.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply