This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Total7zip
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19, 20  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iana
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe I wasn't clear enough, I can edit gzip settings only if 7zip_gzip is selected as the format, I do get an error if I select 7zip_7z and try to use a different format (bzip/gzip), it's probably a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work like that for me iana

If I select xz as a format from the ALT-F5 dialog and press configure, the configuration window will pop up with 7z format settings. When I switch to xz and change something and press ok, I get that error.

iana when you select 7z_gzip and press configure, does the configuration window select gzip by default or do you have to switch to gzip from 7z?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iana
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
iana when you select 7z_gzip and press configure, does the configuration window select gzip by default or do you have to switch to gzip from 7z?

I have to switch it from 7z to gz (or whatever) but to be honest I've never used this plugin to pack to zip/gzip/bzip etc, why well I already have the bzip/xz plugins and when I compress I usually use internal zip for speed or 7z for ratio, if I just select zip.gzip I can pack to gz, the same goes for tar,zip,bz2 and xz.
If the question was how to use total7z to compress to zip (gz, bz2, xz etc) the answer is add the above lines to wincmd.ini (it's in the readme), if the question is does this plugin have bugs the answer is yes it does and I do believe the reason is the updated 7z.dll as when I first installed it with the 9.20 version I had no issues, other users have reported issues with newer dll's from Igor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I do believe the reason is the updated 7z.dll as when I first installed it with the 9.20 version I had no issues


The original Total7zip v0.8.5.6 comes with 7zip 9.22.
I get the same error with that 7zip version as well.

In any case. Maybe it is a bug that is not noticed by many users.

Thanks for your input iana.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2254
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zero_lelouch
New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a really nice plugin, having a lot of functionalities. But I still have a doubt: how use it as a content plugin? For example, I want to open a damaged iso file, but the plugin doesn't even bother for open it. I think the problem is in the file, but when I tried with 7zip 15.12 (the program) it was opened without any kind of problem.
What am I doing wrong???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2254
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zero_lelouch wrote:
It's a really nice plugin, having a lot of functionalities. But I still have a doubt: how use it as a content plugin? For example, I want to open a damaged iso file, but the plugin doesn't even bother for open it. I think the problem is in the file, but when I tried with 7zip 15.12 (the program) it was opened without any kind of problem.
What am I doing wrong???

Setup as content or lister plugin is explained in the readme.rtf of the zip archive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joker
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to open (read: treat like a directory) e.g. tar files with Total7zip and circumvent the internal archive handler of TC?
I need to see the Unix file attributes.
Assigning the plugin to e.g. tar does not work. The file is always being opened by the internal TC archive handler.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2254
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !


Do you have added files to the archive this way:
c:\dir\file
d:\dir\file
... assumed "dir" and "file" are located on drive c: and drive d: as well.

Did you use more than one drive letter at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !


Do you have added files to the archive this way:
c:\dir\file
d:\dir\file
... assumed "dir" and "file" are located on drive c: and drive d: as well.

Did you use more than one drive letter at all?


Example:
c:\dir\file has content "content 1"; d:\dir\file has content "content 2"
7z a -spf archive.7z c:\dir\file d:\dir\file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tc4e wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !


Do you have added files to the archive this way:
c:\dir\file
d:\dir\file
... assumed "dir" and "file" are located on drive c: and drive d: as well.

Did you use more than one drive letter at all?


Example:
c:\dir\file has content "content 1"; d:\dir\file has content "content 2"
7z a -spf archive.7z c:\dir\file d:\dir\file


Tcmd's built-in 7zip shows "dir" twice which is partially ok.
It should also show the drive letter.
Under each "dir" "file" is shown twice due to the ignored drive letter of path "dir".
One "file" then is shown with "content 1", the other "file" with "content 2" which is correct so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2254
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tc4e wrote:
tc4e wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !


Do you have added files to the archive this way:
c:\dir\file
d:\dir\file
... assumed "dir" and "file" are located on drive c: and drive d: as well.

Did you use more than one drive letter at all?


Example:
c:\dir\file has content "content 1"; d:\dir\file has content "content 2"
7z a -spf archive.7z c:\dir\file d:\dir\file


Tcmd's built-in 7zip shows "dir" twice which is partially ok.
It should also show the drive letter.
Under each "dir" "file" is shown twice due to the ignored drive letter of path "dir".
One "file" then is shown with "content 1", the other "file" with "content 2" which is correct so far.

Ok, there is a problem with -spf option.
But for what reason should I ever store the absulute pathnames in an archive ?
Never needed this for the last 30 years of working with archives
on all sort of Windows machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 18 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group