This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Total7zip
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
tc4e wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
tc4e wrote:
Horst.Epp wrote:
HAL 9000 wrote:
Is there any chance this plugin will be updated? Currently it won't unpack files packed with 7zip 15 with 1.5gb dictionary.

This plugin needs no update
as it can use the files from an actual installed 7zip.
In my case its x64 version 15.12


As for 7zip option -spf ("use fully qualified file paths") this is not true.
The plugin can neither read those archives created with -spf nor write them.

Tcmd's built-in 7zip can handle that option - read-only as we are used
to tcmd and 7zip archives.

I have no problems to read archives created with the -spf parameter
using the Total7zip plugin !


Do you have added files to the archive this way:
c:\dir\file
d:\dir\file
... assumed "dir" and "file" are located on drive c: and drive d: as well.

Did you use more than one drive letter at all?


Example:
c:\dir\file has content "content 1"; d:\dir\file has content "content 2"
7z a -spf archive.7z c:\dir\file d:\dir\file


Tcmd's built-in 7zip shows "dir" twice which is partially ok.
It should also show the drive letter.
Under each "dir" "file" is shown twice due to the ignored drive letter of path "dir".
One "file" then is shown with "content 1", the other "file" with "content 2" which is correct so far.

Ok, there is a problem with -spf option.
But for what reason should I ever store the absulute pathnames in an archive ?
Never needed this for the last 30 years of working with archives
on all sort of Windows machines.


30 years? I can keep up with that.
But back to arguments.

For a good reason and on many requests Igor Pavlov implemented the
-spf option.

When archiving files in windows systems with one drive only
there is really no need using -spf.
Other than with two and more drives, identical paths, and one archive only.
In a broader sense drive letters in windows systems can be treated as mount points in *nix systems.
No one would request there to create distinct archives when files from more than one file system respectively "top directory" should be archived.

This behavior, by the way, is default with zip (http://www.info-zip.org) for a very long time.
You have to specify the -j option there to drop the path.

Anyway, the reason for using 7zip's -spf is shown in the example below
with -spf dropped:

7z a archive.7z c:\dir\file d:\dir\file

7-Zip [64] 15.12 : Copyright (c) 1999-2015 Igor Pavlov : 2015-11-19

Scanning the drive:
2 files, 20 bytes (1 KiB)

Creating archive: archive.7z

ERROR:
Duplicate filename on disk:
file
file


Last edited by tc4e on Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I see the problem.
Found that my current archiver ZPAQ and the related TC plugin handles such cases by default with no problem Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tc4e
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horst.Epp wrote:
Ok, I see the problem.
Found that my current archiver ZPAQ and the related TC plugin handles such cases by default with no problem Very Happy


A new finding:
7zip archives created with -spf option can be simply modified
and the Total7zip plugin will be able to work with them:

Just apply the 7zip file manager using the rename function and replace the colon which follows the drive letter by underscore, drive by drive.

Or take CLI and rename function for that, example:
7z rn archive.7z c: c_ d: d_

Afterwards the plugin will have no problem to work with those archives,
both read and write mode.

This is what 7zip will do when extracting -spf archives by default:
It won't overwrite using the absolute paths stored in but rename <drive letter>: to <drive letter>_ to achieve and create relative paths.

Amendment:
UNC pathnames are also an issue with Total7zip plugin.
Renaming \\ to __ using 7zip file manager or 7zip CLI will solve that as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cieply
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Feb 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:01 pm    Post subject: how to stop creating Total7zip.xml in every directory? Reply with quote

how to stop creating Total7zip.xml in every directory with an archive I view?
this is annoying - if program needs a database it should keep it somewhere in plugin's directory or in %APPDATA or whatever but not in every directory with viewed archive.
any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7837
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a bug because:
Quote:
Total7zip stores its settings in the file Total7zip.xml
If this file doesn't exist, it is created with default settings.
You can use included Total7zip.template.xml as an example.

new in Total7zip v0.8.4.0
If Total Commander is started in portable mode, Total7zip.xml will be stored in the plugin folder, as it was in previous versions.
Default path is %COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\WCX\Total7zip\Total7zip.xml
In all other cases Total7zip.xml will be saved to the directory where Total Commander stores the wincmd.ini.

I have one Total7zip.xml in plugin dir (I've enable writing to it for regular users) and all work fine.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cieply
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Feb 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm the only user of the computer and have right to save in these directories. Moreover that - I already put total7zip.xml in %COMMANDER_PATH% and in %COMMANDER_PATH%/plugins/wcx/Total7zip as well so it shouldn't have the issue - these files are there but it still does it.
Don't know how to track it as for some reason filemon doesn't catch anything so I don't even know what files/directories it tries to enter/refer.

I use TC as portable I guess - I have one version that I copy as whole wherever so I don't have to deal with configuration again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7837
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your TC dir is under Program Files, your account may not have write permission to it by default even if you are the only PC user and if your account is administrator account (UAC protects such directories from writing by non-elevated processes). You may have to set write permissions for Users group directly.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mawi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

in light of current news <http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Entpacker-7-Zip-kann-zum-Ausfuehren-von-Schadcode-missbraucht-werden-3206787.html> (German): I couldn't find the way how to update the Total7zip engine. Tried replacing 7zip.wcx with renamed 7z.exe, didn't work. Would be great if this info could be included in the plugin's page as well.

Thanks,
mawi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mawi wrote:
Hello,

in light of current news <http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Entpacker-7-Zip-kann-zum-Ausfuehren-von-Schadcode-missbraucht-werden-3206787.html> (German): I couldn't find the way how to update the Total7zip engine. Tried replacing 7zip.wcx with renamed 7z.exe, didn't work. Would be great if this info could be included in the plugin's page as well.

Thanks,
mawi

Whats the problem to update the 7-zip installation to version 16 ?
The Total7zip plugin has the benefit that you can always use the actual 7-zip files.
You have two ways to do that
1. Install the 7-zip and point your Total7zip config to this installation.
2. Download the actual 7-zip setup (the .exe version) and extract and replace the few 7-zip files you have in your Plugin dir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7837
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Tried replacing 7zip.wcx with renamed 7z.exe, didn't work.

Of course! You're trying to replace plugin library with an executable.
First of all, 7zip.wcx is not Total7zip, it is a separate plugin. Second, your Total7zip plugin has XML settings file with path to 7-Zip files (7z.dll, 7zG.exe) which you can update.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GammelBert
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 109
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also the file 7z.sfx. Maybe it has to be updated, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mawi
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, thanks, the fact that I didn't have an XML there pointed me to the fact that I had an even older plugin installed, still called just 7zip.wcx...

Now I installed Total7zip (which seemed to replace the old 7zip plugin, because that one's now gone from TC's plugin settings), renamed current 7z1600.exe to 7z1600.exe.zip, replaced 7zG.exe & 7z.dll & 7z.sfx in plugins\Total7zip from there.

That should be it, right? So the wcx files do not need updating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7837
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

7zip and Total7zip are completely different plugins, first one have integrated 7-Zip code while second one just calls external 7z.dll so you can update this DLL w/o updating plugin itself.

Total7zip.wcx doesn't replace 7zip.wcx, they are both in your plugins folder, it is just associated with 7z extension instead of it, but you can add them both using different extensions.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ahu_Lee
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Posts: 30
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It says you can extract audio from flv files with it. When I try to do so I got an error message saying "Error in packed file ..\filename.flv". Why?

What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7837
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe some new format? I've tried with some old FLVs - it works. However extracted audio is still in FLV format, not some standard one.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 19 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group