Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Replace UC2 in TC packer menus with anything another
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Replace UC2 with 7zip, Uha, FreeArc, etc... ?
No, leave UC2
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Replace with 7zip
21%
 21%  [ 6 ]
Replace with UHA
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Replace with FreeArc
10%
 10%  [ 3 ]
Replace with something customizable by user
67%
 67%  [ 19 ]
Total Votes : 28

Author Message
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 596
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:56 pm    Post subject: Replace UC2 in TC packer menus with anything another Reply with quote

Now UC2 becomes useless (16 bit software does NOT work on Win64).
7zip, Uha, FreeArc, etc... would be better choice.

Now (while TC is in beta) is good time to suggest it to be replaced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5106
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would be even better to overhaul the packer dialog to allow the user to choose which packers should be shown for direct selection. Different users have different use cases, so if it's configurable everyone could be happy.

I'd really like to see some formats from packer plugins there. Yes, I can choose from the drop-down list, but that's just annoying when I need to switch the packer multiple times during my work - even more with plugins that are more pseudo-packers like TreeCopyPlus, CopyTree and the like.

So, I voted for "Replace with something customizable by user" since it's the one closest to my idea.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon II X4 640, 4096 MB RAM, Gigabyte M56S-S3, WinXP SP3

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
I'd really like to see some formats from packer plugins there. Yes, I can choose from the drop-down list, but that's just annoying when I need to switch the packer multiple times during my work - even more with plugins that are more pseudo-packers like TreeCopyPlus, CopyTree and the like.

Exactly my thoughts whenever I use custom packer extensions!
You could even implement some more comfortable things, like the last three (or so) used packer extensions, quickly selectable with some keyboard shortcut, etc.

Anyway, if that dialog would have a customizable packer, the whole "Pack..." dialog should get a lot more space (width).
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 278
Location: Donetsk

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have grear Total7zip plugin, so I voted for FreeArc. I's powerful and stable tool even if in alpha state.
_________________
Total Commander DreamLair - dream always, think totally, be the commander of you own life.
Windows 10 x64 SL English | Total Commander DreamLair pack v2017pre-α (9.0β x32+x64) | AkelPad Lair pack v2017 pre-β (4.9.8 x86)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7445
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with Dalai and milo1012. I have never used ARJ, UC2, LHA, ACE packers from TC so I would prefer to make that archiver selection panel fully customizeable. I often use CopyTree, DiskDirExtended and Total7zip and I need to select one of them from list every time...
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TW
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same here. most of the packers there really are outdated.

- ARJ
- LHA
- UC2
- ACE

at least those 4 could go and be replaced by some newer packers.

a customizable panel would be the best of course.
_________________
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 596
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
I'd really like to see some formats from packer plugins there. Yes, I can choose from the drop-down list, but that's just annoying when I need to switch the packer multiple times during my work - even more with plugins that are more pseudo-packers like TreeCopyPlus, CopyTree and the like.

Scrolllist is the solution, see [1] or [2].

milo1012 wrote:
Anyway, if that dialog would have a customizable packer, the whole "Pack..." dialog should get a lot more space (width).
I don't think so:

[1]
Here's my first concept for "Pack files" dialog:
http://savepic.net/8240476.png
See diffrence:
1. WCX-plugins dropdown list is replaced with scrolllist
2. (optionally) Added 1 more packer
3. Buttons "Ok/Tree...." are moved to left side
BTW, if UC2 will be removed and 7ZIP (or anything else) would not be added, there would not be any need to move buttons to left.

[2]
Another concept I'll try explain with text, it is great pain to draw it in MsPaint, too much diffrence.
1. WCX-plugins dropdown list is replaced with scrolllist (the same to first concept)
2. EXE packers are shown at the top of scroll list.
3. External ACE, ARJ, LHA, RAR, UC2 are shown in common dropdown list (no button)
4. External ACE, ARJ, LHA, RAR, UC2 are shown only if their path string is filled. You can easily hide any of them when path string is empty.
5. Buttons are only used for internal packers (ZIP, TAR, GZ, TGZ).


Last edited by MaxX on Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5106
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2MaxX
At first, I thought about a similar control, but then I realized: it's not really faster to select a packer from a list, although you can see (almost) all of them at the same time. It would be cool to select a packer by some (configurable) hotkeys. Hotkeys like the ones you get when prefixing a letter with an ampersand in menus.

Unfortunately I doubt that such hotkeys can be used in a list control. My idea is to draw a radio button for every packer the user wants to see in the dialog, up to some max number (e.g. 3x 3 or 3x 5).

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon II X4 640, 4096 MB RAM, Gigabyte M56S-S3, WinXP SP3

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 596
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Dalai
I have over 30 plugins, 3x5 will be not enough, 3x10 will be ugly.
I like scrolllist idea because it will be more compact.
As you know, now in dropdown list i can chose plugin/extenstion just pressing its first letter when point is on "->".
The same should be with desired scrolllist. I mean, you push LMB on it (or on "->") and press any (first) letter you wish.
Also it could be small button to dropdown all list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5106
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxX wrote:
I have over 30 plugins, 3x5 will be not enough [...]

Well, the idea is that you enable only the plugins/packers you need frequently. The remaining ones could be available via another control, e.g. some menu button or something like that. Menu buttons are used at several places in TC.

Quote:
As you know, now in dropdown list i can chose plugin/extenstion just pressing its first letter when point is on "->".

Yes, but you can't directly select all of plugins/packers that start with the same letter. The same applies to a listbox.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon II X4 640, 4096 MB RAM, Gigabyte M56S-S3, WinXP SP3

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxX wrote:
I don't think so

If a solution like your first one would be implemented, sure.
What I meant is if you make the radio buttons user configurable, we'd need a lot more width for them, as they are currently limited to three characters, and we can have any length with custom extensions (like "TreeCopy").
MaxX wrote:
[1]
Here's my first concept for "Pack files" dialog:

Looks good. A much better overlook over all available extensions.

Dalai wrote:
Unfortunately I doubt that such hotkeys can be used in a list control.

That's why I'm for either an additional "history" list, where you can quickly select the last used extensions with hotkeys,
or for three (or so) additional radio buttons, fillable by the user with his favorite extensions, maybe selectable with numpad 1, 2, 3 or similar.
Based on MaxX's first concept, sth. like
https://abload.de/img/tc9_packer_concept_0111z8v.png
_________________
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9172
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Dalai
Quote:
Unfortunately I doubt that such hotkeys can be used in a list control.

I don't think it's impossible. It could work like this.

1. User presses key.
2. The event is sent to the dialog
3. Handle the event by forwarding the key to a method that checks the mnemonics set in the (custom drawn) list.
4. If there is a match set the item index accordingly and set the focus to the listbox.
5. If there is no match continue with standard key handler


This is how it could look like:
http://lefteous.totalcmd.net/tc/ideas/packer_dialog2.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5106
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Lefteous
Mmh, that could work. Your mockup looks good. I would separate the internal packers from plugins, though, maybe with some thin line in the list. And I wouldn't drop the little star that visualizes an external packer is needed for that format.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon II X4 640, 4096 MB RAM, Gigabyte M56S-S3, WinXP SP3

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7445
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple popup menu may also be used for custom packers (with auto-assigned shortcuts, e.g. 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 ..., a, b, c, ...).
Popup menu would be opened by clicking a button (with shortcut too, and this button could display currently selected packer).

And, of course, internal parametrized command for opening pack dialog with PRESELECTED packer would be another step to the future.


Would be really nice to hide unused predefined packers from list. I have none of 5 filled with paths in settings.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 596
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My concept #2 as an image:
http://savepic.net/8245628.png
("xz" is an example of selected item).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group