Page 1 of 1

Support for relative paths in command-line

Posted: 2016-04-08, 15:20 UTC
by KuttKatrea
Hi.

I'm using Total Commander 8.51a (x64), and I have noted that I can't do

Code: Select all

totalcmd64 .
In a command line to invoke total commander in the current folder, and I have to do

Code: Select all

totalcmd64 %CD%
which is not so intuitive

This problem extends to any relative folder, we can't do

Code: Select all

totalcmd64 ..
or

Code: Select all

totalcmd64 subfolder
or

Code: Select all

totalcmd64 ./subfolder

In the other hand, Windows Explorer understands this perfectly and

Code: Select all

explorer /r,.
Has the expected result.

As a developer who heavily relies in command line terminals, I suggest this must be supported.

Posted: 2016-04-08, 16:17 UTC
by Horst.Epp
TC is a GUI program.
Most user have set-up the pathes TC should show on start-up.
The rest is the button bar or Aliases from the command line of TC.
So I see no real need for your suggestion.

Posted: 2016-04-08, 16:21 UTC
by MVV
Simple batch tcstart.bat can solve this:

Code: Select all

@"%~dp0\totalcmd.exe" /L="%~dpnx1"
It is used just like mentioned above:

Code: Select all

tcstart .
If you want it to change directory in existing TC instance, modify it e.g. like this (open dir in new tab of active panel):

Code: Select all

@"%~dp0\totalcmd.exe" /O /S /T /L="%~dpnx1"