This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Everything only detected when running
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC suggestions (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9389
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 8:42 am    Post subject: Everything only detected when running Reply with quote

Everything is still only detected when it's running. Not exactly a bug but it shouldn't be necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2690
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:06 am    Post subject: Re: Everything only detected when running Reply with quote

Lefteous wrote:
Everything is still only detected when it's running. Not exactly a bug but it shouldn't be necessary.

Agreed
TC should have a config item to specify the path from which to start the Everything.exe if it its not running.

But normal Everything users have the exe and the service running in background anyway Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Error message should be changed anyway. When user have Everything installed but not running, it isn't correct to suggest downloading and installing it, must better would be something like 'Everything is not running, please start it....', and maybe some note with download link at the end.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the user installs everything with their installer, then it is running automatically in the background.

There is currently no way to detect an installed but not running everything (or is there?).
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9389
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ghisler(Author)
I don't know if it can be detected automatically but there will always be cases where it cannot be detected especially when using the portable installation.

I suggest the following flow when clicking the checkbox in search dialog:
1. Msg 'Everything has not been detected. Has Everywhere been installed on this computer?' Yes/No.
2a. Yes -> Offer user to select the Everything executable
2b No -> Ask to download Everywhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9389
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beta 3 now automatically starts an Everything.exe when it's located in its program folder.

The Everything UI is started in the background. Maybe you could start it with main window hidden?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the "-startup" parameter fits this use case.

-startup    Run Everything in the background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, nice, I couldn't find that so I used WM_SHOWMINIMIZED instead. But maybe it would be better if the user sees that Everything is starting?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2004
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think TC should complain if it still can't find the Everything process.
The additional taskbar icon has no benefit if it works as intended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricB
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Posts: 333
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using both TC and Everything portable in Dropbox. Everything is in some other folder.

Currently TC does not find my running Everything instance, because I use a named instance. I just found that if I leave out the named instance, TC is able to detect Everything. It seems that TC searches for process "Everything" but does not allow Everything (Some Instance Name).

Would it be possible to feed more command-line parameters to Everything when starting it from TC (when not running)? I currently use the following (via a batch file):

start everything.exe -admin -config %COMPUTERNAME%.ini -instance %COMPUTERNAME% -db %COMPUTERNAME%.db

This way all data for different systems is completely separate by using the named instance, ini and database.

An alternative would be to just configure the path to the portable Everything folder/exe/batch and use this (but preferably with the extra command-line parameters).

Regards, EricB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9389
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ghisler(Author)
Quote:
But maybe it would be better if the user sees that Everything is starting?

There is the Everything icon in the notification area. This should be enough. If the user hides it - he certainly did it for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LonerD
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 278
Location: Donetsk

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please, add new option (key) for Everything path in wincmd.ini (not only from TC root directory, but from any user selected directory).
Like path to Irfanview/Xnview.
_________________
Total Commander DreamLair - dream always, think totally, be the commander of you own life.
Windows 10 x64 SL English | Total Commander DreamLair pack v2017pre-α (9.0β x32+x64) | AkelPad Lair pack v2017 pre-β (4.9.8 x86)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricB
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Posts: 333
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Additional to my previous post:

The Everything -instance command line parameter also takes care of named versions of filters, search history and run history, which is again very useful when doing the portable install in Dropbox.

So support of a named instance of Everything is MUCH appreciated.

Regards, EricB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Currently TC does not find my running Everything instance, because I use a named instance.

Which parameter sets the named instance?

Quote:
Please, add new option (key) for Everything path in wincmd.ini (not only from TC root directory, but from any user selected directory).

I will consider it.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EricB
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Posts: 333
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Which parameter sets the named instance?


everything.exe -instance YourInstanceName would do the trick (choose the instance name of your liking, I use %COMPUTERNAME%). This results in

- A window title Everything (YourInstanceName)
- All saved filters, search history and run history obtain this instance name as a postfix

Regards, EricB

[Edit: instance name is added as postfix, not prefix]


Last edited by EricB on Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC suggestions (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group