Starting Windows Update from TC Button bar (W7 x64 Ultimate)

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Starting Windows Update from TC Button bar (W7 x64 Ultimate)

Post by *DRP535 »

Wondering if anyone can help with the process required to mirror the Windows Update icon in Control Panel of W7 into the TC Button bar to be able to start it up directly from there rather than having to go through Control Panel?

I have over 100 updates due for installation in my version of W7, but I like to only install them very slowly one at a time, basically because past experience has taught me that Microsoft are very bad at programming and frequently their updates break lots of other things. Rather than give myself a nightmare by installing all of them at once and then finding I can't browse the internet anymore and I'm completely locked out of my own e-mail all in the name of enhanced security, I rather test each one piecemeal until I'm satisfied it hasn't caused any negative side effects. Doing this would be a lot less painful if I could just start the app from straight within TC via the button bar. Is this possible?
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9409
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

Try this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%SystemRoot%\system32\wuapp.exe

wuapi.dll,1
Windows Update


-1
Copy the code above and paste it onto a free space of TC's button bar to create a new button. Maybe there's some other way to open it (appwiz.cpl with some parameter), but the code above works fine for me.

BTW: The dead slow search for Windows Updates on Win7/Vista can be worked around by following the instructions on my page which I update at least once a month (will update it today or tomorrow since today is MS Patchday again).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Post by *DRP535 »

Brilliant! You sir are a legend. That is exactly what I wanted.
tdklaus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-02-14, 11:07 UTC

Post by *tdklaus »

DRP535 wrote:Brilliant! You sir are a legend. That is exactly what I wanted.
Deviating from the topic - does anyone have a solution for Win10 x64 ?
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9409
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

I don't have a machine with Win10 available, but I did a little research and found this: Executing Control Panel Items:
Windows Vista Canonical Names

In Windows Vista and later, the preferred method of launching a Control Panel item from a command line is to use the Control Panel item's canonical name. A canonical name is a non-localized string that the Control Panel item declares in the registry.
[...]
The following example shows how an application can start the Control Panel item Windows Update with WinExec.
So, according to MS, the following button should work on Vista and later:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%systemroot%\system32\control.exe
/name Microsoft.WindowsUpdate
wuapi.dll,1
Windows Update


-1
I tested it successfully on Win7, maybe it works on Win10, too.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6509
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Dalai wrote:I don't have a machine with Win10 available, but I did a little research and found this: Executing Control Panel Items:
Windows Vista Canonical Names

In Windows Vista and later, the preferred method of launching a Control Panel item from a command line is to use the Control Panel item's canonical name. A canonical name is a non-localized string that the Control Panel item declares in the registry.
[...]
The following example shows how an application can start the Control Panel item Windows Update with WinExec.
So, according to MS, the following button should work on Vista and later:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%systemroot%\system32\control.exe
/name Microsoft.WindowsUpdate
wuapi.dll,1
Windows Update


-1
I tested it successfully on Win7, maybe it works on Win10, too.

Regards
Dalai
Your button works fine for Windows 10 x64 :D
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3527)
TC 11.03 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1375a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.78
QAP 11.6.3.3 x64
User avatar
Ennovy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-06-14, 09:49 UTC
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by *Ennovy »

Dalai's solution works fine.
What also works is this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
ms-settings:windowsupdate

wuapi.dll
Windows Update


-1
More info here: http://www.howtogeek.com/227232/how-to-create-a-shortcut-to-windows-update-in-windows-10/
#134575 Personal licence
Total Commander 9
Windows 10 64bit

Tough times never last, tough people do!
User avatar
DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Post by *DRP535 »

This works brilliantly thanks. Flushed with this success, is there a way of getting the Windows Recycle Bin (Trash Can) icon in the TC button bar as well? I'd love to completely clear my desktop of all icons entirely and have it completely clean.
User avatar
Ennovy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-06-14, 09:49 UTC
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by *Ennovy »

DRP535 wrote:This works brilliantly thanks. Flushed with this success, is there a way of getting the Windows Recycle Bin (Trash Can) icon in the TC button bar as well? I'd love to completely clear my desktop of all icons entirely and have it completely clean.
Try this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd ::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}

C:\Windows\System32\shell32.dll,32
Recycle Bin


-1
#134575 Personal licence
Total Commander 9
Windows 10 64bit

Tough times never last, tough people do!
User avatar
DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Post by *DRP535 »

Nice. I like it, but is there are a way of getting the button to behave in the same way as the one on the desktop does? ie. have the same context menu appear when right clicking on it etc.?

I realising I'm asking a bit much and if the answer's no, then it's good enough like that. I can make that work and be happy enough to delete the Recycle Bin from my desktop.

Cheers
User avatar
Ennovy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-06-14, 09:49 UTC
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by *Ennovy »

Right clicking will always show TC context menu IMHO

EDIT: But you can use a AutoHotkey script to empty the Recycle Bin with a hotkey.

Code: Select all

#P::FileRecycleEmpty  ;Win+P	Empty Recycle Bin for all drives
#134575 Personal licence
Total Commander 9
Windows 10 64bit

Tough times never last, tough people do!
User avatar
Damel
Member
Member
Posts: 130
Joined: 2003-02-06, 01:11 UTC
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Post by *Damel »

Recycle bin for TC button bar:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_OpenRecycled

imageres.dll,49
Recycle bin

-1
The F8 button (bottom right) has a local menu for Recycle bin.
The best solution:
1. format C:
2. install TotalCmd
3. install Windows (optionally)
Post Reply