This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[9.0a] different tab icons from desktop.ini and same file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:49 am    Post subject: [9.0a] different tab icons from desktop.ini and same file Reply with quote

TC 9.0a x64, Win 10.

I have the following desktop.ini files for several folders:
Code:
[.ShellClassInfo]
IconFile=%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll
IconIndex=128
ConfirmFileOp=0

I also have the same icon for one of my custom views.

But they are rendered differently (left one is from desktop.ini, right - from custom view).

Judging from explorer, the left tab icon is shown when normal, large or huge icons are chosen, the right - when small icons are chosen (also in detailed view).

IMO TC's behavior is inconsistent and downscaled icon (right) looks uglier than the one with no scaling.
_________________
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34704
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How is the custom view icon defined?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
2_name=Музыка
2_icon=%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,128
2_options=1|1|0||-1|-1|-1

_________________
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34704
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This should be fixed in TC 9.10 beta, please test it!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not fixed. Behavior is exactly the same as in 9.0a.
_________________
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34704
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I cannot reproduce that. Here they look EXACTLY the same, both on Windows 7 with 16x16 icons (96 dpi):
https://www.ghisler.ch/img/tabicons16.png
and on Windows 10 with 28x28 icons (150 dpi, scaled):
https://www.ghisler.ch/img/tabicons28.png

Any idea why it could be wrong for you? What Windows version and system scaling (dpi) settings do you use?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My icon size is 32x32. As soon as I set it to 16x16 AND restart TC, I see what you see at https://www.ghisler.ch/img/tabicons16.png . After that, as soon as I set it to 32x32 AND restart TC, I get the bug. If I don't restart, the icons are in the previous state.

Quote:
What Windows version and system scaling (dpi) settings do you use?
I still use Windows 10 with autoupdate enabled. I don't know where to look for "system scaling (dpi) settings". Most probably - I use default.
_________________
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34704
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I could reproduce it with 32x32 icons!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed in 9.10b3, thank you!
_________________
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group