Create and save folders list in New Folder menu

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
Sektor
Member
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 2007-04-04, 10:11 UTC
Location: Russia

Create and save folders list in New Folder menu

Post by *Sektor »

I have a need to frequently create same number of folders at once. As of now, TC has such functionality through pipeline token "|". And even this list is remembered in combobox. Alas, during the time, when I create other folders, this list will go away. So, it would be welcome if there would be ability to save frequently used folders list under some name and restore it when it's required. For instance, I frequently create folders "Folder1|Folder2|Folder3|Folder4". Then I can save this string under the name "MyList1". Then, after some time, in New Folder dialog I could select this list, and TC would create those four folders.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Try the new multi-folder creation in TC 9.10 beta! For example,
<1-4>Folder[C]
would create Folder1 .. Folder4
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Sektor
Member
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 2007-04-04, 10:11 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *Sektor »

@ghisler
I gave a bad example) My folders are name not like Folder1, Folder2 etc., but they have names of regions.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48021
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I see - you could make the history length longer by adding e.g.
MaxItemsInComboBox=100
to wincmd.ini section [Configuration]. Maximum supported is 500.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Sektor
Member
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 2007-04-04, 10:11 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *Sektor »

@ghisler
It's not comfortable to search for 347-th record in drop down list)
As I see, this would be some drop down with named lists. I select a name - and folders are being created.
User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1460
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

Post by *Gral »

IMO, for such a task much more comfortable is create BAT (CMD) file with set of "MD" commands and put in the path, or AHK script and assign alias or hotkey for it.

BAT file example:

Code: Select all

MD "Directory Number 1"
MD "Directory Number 2"
MD "Folder Number 1"
MD "Folder Number 2"
MD "1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0"
MD "a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z"
MD "Folder or Directory (whatever you prefer) with long, very long, or even longer name"
AHK example

Code: Select all

FileCreateDir, Directory Number 1
FileCreateDir, Directory Number 2
FileCreateDir, Folder  Number 1
FileCreateDir, Folder  Number 2
FileCreateDir, 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
FileCreateDir, a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z
FileCreateDir, Folder or Directory (whatever you prefer) with long, very long, or even longer name
For using AutoHotkey script you don't even need install AutoHotkey program, just download, unpack to TC subdirectory and create TC external command, e.g.:

Code: Select all

[em_MD_AHK_1]
cmd=%COMMANDER_PATH%\AHK\AutoHotkey.exe %COMMANDER_PATH%\AHK\MD_AHK_1.AHK
menu=Make directory AHK set 1
then assign alias or keyboard shortcut for it.
Sektor
Member
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 2007-04-04, 10:11 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *Sektor »

@Gral I didn't ask for external solution (why would I bother?) but I want this to be native solution. All TC must do is just to restore a string.

@ghisler So, can it be implemented the way I ask? :)
License #299429
There is no knowledge that is not power
Post Reply