Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Plugin auto-install HOWTO (TC 6.5 or newer)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
djk
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 1651
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark One wrote:
recomendation: add a new field: readme=myreadme.txt and a button on your new dialog which will allow users to see plugin's readme file. perhaps also readmedeu=myreadme.de readmerus=myreadme.ru or a combo box like in Kconfigure. allow html files along with txt...


Yes, I also think it would be a good solution. Not only to read what the plugin is for but what's more important to read its requirements. In some cases you need to do something before installing it, eg. download and install some additional libraries (eg. MATLAB plugin). If you don't do it you get errors during installation.
In some cases using a plugin can a be a bit complex so it would also be nice to be able to read the instructions how to use it. Of course one can go to plugin folder and then read it manually but why not to make it easier?

Adding version would be also nice cause now it's usually added by authors to description field, but if there are several descriptions (I mean for different languages) he has to copy the version number several times instead of putting it only once.
_________________
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 2755

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope that the plugin-self-installation system will be expanded in future versions.
Reason:
http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/EventLog.html
great Plugin which is one part FS and the other part Lister
Or is there any way to write a pluginst.inf that will install
both files from one zipfile ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djk
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 1651
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Sir_SiLvA

Read this Sad
_________________
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 2755

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2djk
Im still hoping Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djk
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 1651
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
You've never put your opinion on these suggestions. As there are more and more plugins (over 450) and many of them need user actions before they can work properly (or even before installation) I think it would be a good solution to add suggested above field. What do you think about?
_________________
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 1571

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, isnt it clear that he doesn't like it ? Cool Very Happy
_________________

             Habemus majkam!


www.r-moth.com               http://r-moth.deviantart.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djk
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 1651
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2majkinetor !
Well, I always prefer to get any answer, even the worst - it's always better than none.
_________________
DJK
Totally addicted to Total Commander
totalcmd.pl
en.totalcmd.pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 1588
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about multilines description by supproting \n inside it?
_________________
Author of Ultra TC Editors
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 5818
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ts4242
Quote:
what about multilines description by supproting \n inside it?


Not much hope - see: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=115370#115370 Sad
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
Win XP 32bit SP3 & Win 7 64bit SP1 & Win 8.1 64bit. TC 8.51 32+64bit, TC 2.05b2d

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kenchis
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 12:37 pm    Post subject: Is it possible... Reply with quote

Is it possible to remove outdated files during a plugin auto-install procedure?
I wants to remove olf fileversions, the newer files have a different name.

For example:

tc-apis-1.5.jar must be removed
and tc-apis-1.6.jar should be installed

Is this possible or should i remove it in my plugin code?
_________________
Gruß,
Kenchi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 28477
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Currently there is no way to remove files. What you can do is place a 0 byte file with that name in your archive. This way, the old file will be overwritten with a 0 byte file, saving the disk space of the old file. Another alternative would be to delete the old file from within your plugin when it is used for the first time. You may also combine the two, and delete the old file only when it is 0 bytes long.

But why change the name anyway?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
m^2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 1417
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Currently there is no way to remove files. What you can do is place a 0 byte file with that name in your archive. This way, the old file will be overwritten with a 0 byte file, saving the disk space of the old file. Another alternative would be to delete the old file from within your plugin when it is used for the first time. You may also combine the two, and delete the old file only when it is 0 bytes long.

But why change the name anyway?

But it will still take one cluster and some screen space, when the folder is being browsed. Not a big deal, but not a nice solution.
_________________
Image: http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/2110/pcbsdec7.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 9506
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m^2,
Quote:
But it will still take one cluster

Just FYI, it will not. Wink

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

Donations
BTC: 16KGZbrQZqATnY1Yfhb8RcWkfyybv2UHb8
LTC: LgwzV7fxgWGkBBhQ5k6uFiB69hN6bG6n78
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
m^2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 1417
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hacker wrote:
m^2,
Quote:
But it will still take one cluster

Just FYI, it will not. Wink

Roman

Sorry, my mistake. It will still some space in files table.
The only better solution I see is writing a helper plugin that will manually do the instalation.
_________________
Image: http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/2110/pcbsdec7.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
ranmori
New Member
New Member


Joined: 25 May 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your input everyone!Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group