This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Non-modal search window
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Non-modal search window
Yes
90%
 90%  [ 124 ]
No
9%
 9%  [ 13 ]
Total Votes : 137

Author Message
mnerec
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:39 am    Post subject: Non-modal search window Reply with quote

When you set TC to do an extensive search, you cannot continue
working as the windows is modal.

For this reason I use several instances of TC, whick kinda work
against the whole tabbed panes feature set.

What about making it run in a seperate thread, non-modal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry but this is technically impossible. Most unpackers like the external unrar.dll do not work correctly or even crash when called multiple times, e.g. for unpacking and searching at the same time. The same is true e.g. for plugins.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mnerec
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry for sounding silly, or even a bit dumb,but what does the unpacker have to do with searching for files?

As far as I noticed you cannot search for filenames inside a RAR file with the search.

What part of the search is the problem? You can copy files in the background, why is scanning for filenames not possible, or for that matter strings inside binary files?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course you can search for file names and even for text inside of archives - just check the option "search archives"...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mnerec
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough, I missed that option Smile

Your search dialog is SOO much faster than the one in windows, and this is one of the reasons that TC is the first program put onto my personal computers.

But when searching my companys server for "that particlular source file", I really regret having to open another TC for, for what seems to me, a simple task.

Maybe searching in archives and/or plugins could be disabled if the window is not modal? These are not features I've ever used, let alone noticed.

That way everyone would be satisfied Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10665
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
IIRC you never responded to the idea that you could make the window modeless when searching in archives is not enabled.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the MOST WANTED features!
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10665
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another approach could be to "queue" unpacking operations, so for instance when you search in archives and a RAR is being searched and the user wants to open another RAR in the main window, a message could pop up saying, "Another archive of this type already opened by the search operation, please wait..."

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Hacker
I like the idea! It is really rare when i open a rar, which i just search. Besides, i only use the internal zip Wink
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 9386
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have written down my thoughts about that here:
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=45498#45498
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 3693
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Lefteous
And I agreed there too! Wink
_________________
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
IIRC you never responded to the idea that you could make the window modeless when searching in archives is not enabled.


This would be possible, but would cause even more support e-mails, like "the search archives functions cannot be checked" when users switch to and back to the search function...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Flint
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 3129
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author)
Quote:
This would be possible, but would cause even more support e-mails, like "the search archives functions cannot be checked" when users switch to and back to the search function...

This could be implemented as a "hidden" option, turned off by default. To enable it the user will need to write a particular key in wincmd.ini - and in the description of this key (in the help file) there would be a BOLD warning. Smile
_________________
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.12rc3 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10665
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Quote:
IIRC you never responded to the idea that you could make the window modeless when searching in archives is not enabled.


This would be possible, but would cause even more support e-mails, like "the search archives functions cannot be checked" when users switch to and back to the search function...
I think you misunderstood. The search window would become modeless after the search is invoked and only if search in archives is disabled. So the modality would depend on the search in archives checkbox, not the other way round.

And what do you think about my other proposal?

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately this would require a major redesign of all the various unpacking functions. One alternative would be to start the search in a separate program instance (launch a hidden TC with just the search window), but then "feed to listbox" would no longer be possible.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group