newbie question re: explorer replacement

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

janrif

newbie question re: explorer replacement

Post by *janrif »

Hello group, Newbie here - searched for answer & looked thru FAQ & probably missed it but is there a setting that replaces Explorer with Total Commander? TIA
JanRif
Ridgefield, CT USA
Vansumsen
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *Vansumsen »

Welcome janrif

Please have a look here

Fiendly
Paul
Ouistiti, #11943

L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *icfu »

If you mean running TC as a shell, the answer is No.
If you mean changing double click behaviour on folders on desktop and the like it is of course possible.

Adjust the path, keep the double slashes, save as TC.reg and double click:

Code: Select all

REGEDIT 4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]
@="Total_Commander"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Total_Commander]
@="Total Commander"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Total_Commander\command]
@="X:\\Path\\To\\TOTALCMD.EXE /O /S /L=%1"
Regarding the available parameters see TC help section 4a.

Edit: Ah, too slow. ;)

Icfu
This account is for sale
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *Sheepdog »

And if you don't like it you can remove it with the following reg-file:

REGEDIT 4

@=-
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Total_Commander]
sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
janrif

Post by *janrif »

Vansumsen wrote:Please have a look here