Crash when switching tab to FTPS one

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Crash when switching tab to FTPS one

Post by *m^2 » 2010-02-03, 15:45 UTC

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 7.50a fin
---------------------------
Access violation at address 05D6022F. Read of address 05CEB164.

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
05D6022F
4023DB  4026A4  5B9B44  5C574D  5CCFE4  5CD2CC
4443BA  414514  4438E9  414514  443A3D  4443BA
414514  44397B  414514  658882  4DAEB9  4563A3
442479  4423B7  44476E  4443BA  >414514  44397B
414514  4438E9  414514  4443BA  414514  44397B
414514  419B58  419BF0  69F119  
Raw:
621DFC  4023DB  4026A4  4036C5  4037AE  5BA0C0
690061  444733  444D11  442479  444689  4443C6
4443DD  433D25  4443C6  4443DD  414514  445347
444733  442479  444689  433D25  4443C6  4443DD
502722  444716  442479  444689  433D25  443A3D
4443BA  4443DD  414514  44397B  414514  62003F
4446D7  416D81  442479  444689  4161F0  443A3D
4443BA  4443DD  414514  44397B  414514  4AF51B
412825  5B9B44  5C574D  46005A  42700E  60FFFE
42738E  4273C9  50001E  69C025  65FBC1  60FFFE

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Yes   No   
---------------------------
I switched to a tab with a directory on FTPS server, which was unused for a long time. The "Connect" window appeared and TC crashed.
After clicking "Continue Execution" I see that it didn't write anything.

It might be important that the server is stored in the ini and it's password is encrypted.

ADDED: Oh, and something that may give a hint: TC disallows tab changes in this panel now.

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2010-02-08, 07:27 UTC

Again a crash when changing tabs, this time it's from FTPS one.

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 7.50a fin
---------------------------
Access violation at address 0470022F. Read of address 0468B164.

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
0470022F
4023DB  4026A4  5B9B44  5C574D  5CCFE4  5CD2CC
4438E9  414514  443A3D  4443BA  414514  44397B
414514  658882  4DAEB9  4563A3  442479  4423B7
44476E  4443BA  >414514  44397B  414514  4438E9
414514  4443BA  414514  44397B  414514  419B58
419BF0  69F119  
Raw:
621DFC  4023DB  4026A4  4036C5  4037AE  5BA0C0
690061  444733  444D11  442479  444689  4443C6
4443DD  433D25  4443C6  4443DD  414514  445347
444733  442479  444689  433D25  4443C6  4443DD
502722  444716  442479  444689  433D25  443A3D
4443BA  4443DD  414514  44397B  414514  62003F
4446D7  416D81  442479  444689  4161F0  443A3D
4443BA  4443DD  414514  44397B  414514  4AF51B
412825  5B9B44  5C574D  69C23B  6788F0  6788F0
4DA6C0  69C11F  69A295  69A520  695FFF  69C26B

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Yes   No   
---------------------------

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-02-08, 17:30 UTC

Strangely, the error occurs when trying to load the OpenSSL DLLs. You probably had a bad dll in the current directory when switching to an FTPS tab...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2010-02-09, 08:39 UTC

Possibly. About that time I was working with a program that uses it, though the dll seems fine.

Can't TC change the directory for the own one?
It's a huge surprise that it tries to load dlls that are neither in it's directory nor in system.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-02-11, 17:16 UTC

Actually Total Commander calls LoadLibrary() with its own program directory and dll name (full path). Only when that fails, TC calls LoadLibrary() again with just the DLL name. So apparently loading the DLLs in your TC directory failed for some unknown reason.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2010-02-11, 19:09 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Actually Total Commander calls LoadLibrary() with its own program directory and dll name (full path). Only when that fails, TC calls LoadLibrary() again with just the DLL name. So apparently loading the DLLs in your TC directory failed for some unknown reason.
For a known reason. I have OpenSSL libraries in %PATH%, not in TC directory.
I suggest to try the second LoadLibrary in TC path.
I can't think of a case when loading it from the directory in a panel would be desired.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-02-15, 17:27 UTC

Well, I can either pass the full name to LoadLibrary, or just the name, not the path. When passing just the name, Windows will also look in the current directory.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2010-02-15, 22:12 UTC

Yes. But you can set current directory to whatever you want, including TC directory.

User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Post by *kluvi » 2010-02-18, 11:36 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Strangely, the error occurs when trying to load the OpenSSL DLLs. You probably had a bad dll in the current directory when switching to an FTPS tab...
I have SAME problem, but immediately after trying to connect FTPS server.
I can attach IMG but after 1 day waiting...

User avatar
kluvi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2010-02-18, 11:13 UTC
Location: Czech rep.

Post by *kluvi » 2010-02-18, 11:40 UTC

kluvi wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:Strangely, the error occurs when trying to load the OpenSSL DLLs. You probably had a bad dll in the current directory when switching to an FTPS tab...
I have SAME problem, but immediately after trying to connect FTPS server.
I can attach IMG but after 1 day waiting...
MAybe that it depends on (un)success while connecting or athentificating.
Because i can't connect to that server even by WinSCP...
(server suddenly closed connection)

Post Reply