Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Brumm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2014-11-18, 11:00 UTC

Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *Brumm » 2018-11-09, 12:14 UTC

Currently, the "About" screen of my Total Commander looks like this. As you can see, the two INI paths are word-wrapped and not easily copyable (or even go-to-able) from here. For usability reasons, it might be nice to find a better solution. How about a read-only textbox?
Dateimanagerfetischist.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8129
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *MVV » 2018-11-09, 13:12 UTC

You can press Ctrl+C in a message box to copy its text.

User avatar
Brumm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2014-11-18, 11:00 UTC

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *Brumm » 2018-11-09, 13:44 UTC

There are no line breaks in the copied text - not only do I get the whole "About" screen with that, I also have to manually select what I need and I can't even double-click it to select "the whole word" because both .ini paths are just concatenated together.
Dateimanagerfetischist.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Replace the static INI paths | Textify

Post by *tuska » 2018-11-09, 13:48 UTC

Where Ctrl+C does not work, Textify might work :D
Have you ever wanted to copy some text from a dialog box which doesn’t provide such functionality?
Textify was created to solve this problem:...
I use the tool Textify to copy texts from dialog boxes (and much more) to the clipboard.
textify_setup_1-6-2.exe -> Dropdown "portable" available during installation.

Button with command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\Textify\Textify.exe -hidewnd ... (start Textify -> Systray)
Button with command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\Textify\Textify.exe (start Textify: Homepage, Settings, "X" -> Systray)

Adjustable: CTRL + right mouse button, [mark text], press ESC … OR ... CTRL + right mouse button again.
Demonstration available on the website - Info.

Note: Also helpful to copy texts from error messages to the clipboard [and Google search/translation afterwards].
Textify.ini - ExampleShow
; After editing this configuration file,
; Textify must be restarted to apply the changes.

; Mouse and keyboard key numbers can be found here:
; https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/dd375731.aspx

[mouse]
key=2
ctrl=1
alt=0
shift=0

[keyboard]
key=84
ctrl=1
alt=1
shift=1

[config]
auto_copy_selection=1
hide_tray_icon=0

; Web buttons can be used with the keyboard shortcuts: Alt+1, Alt+2, etc.
; More web buttons can be added, and existing buttons can be removed.
; If desired, all of the web buttons can be removed.

[web_button_1]
icon=icons\google.ico
url=https://www.google.com/search?q=%s
external_browser=1
width=0
height=0

[web_button_2]
; DEUTSCH - ENGLISCH
icon=icons\google_translate.ico
url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/en/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/de/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/#de|en|
; url=https://translate.google.com/m/translate#auto/en/%s
external_browser=0
width=400
height=700

[web_button_3]
; ENGLISCH - DEUTSCH
icon=icons\google_translate.ico
url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/de/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/en/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/translate#auto/%s
; url=https://translate.google.de/#de|en|
; url=https://translate.google.com/m/translate#auto/en/%s
external_browser=0
width=400
height=700

[web_button_4]
icon=icons\duckduckgo.ico
url=https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%s
external_browser=0
width=400
height=700

[web_button_5]
icon=icons\wikipedia.ico
; url=https://en.m.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?search=%s
url=https://de.m.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?search=%s
external_browser=0
width=400
height=700
Last edited by tuska on 2018-11-09, 13:52 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Brumm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2014-11-18, 11:00 UTC

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *Brumm » 2018-11-09, 13:51 UTC

Ah, that's actually a really handy tool. Thank you!
I wish I had known that a few years ago. :)
Dateimanagerfetischist.

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2170
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *Stefan2 » 2018-11-09, 14:08 UTC

What do you want to achieve? Maybe there are already other ways to do that.



 

User avatar
Brumm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: 2014-11-18, 11:00 UTC

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *Brumm » 2018-11-09, 14:09 UTC

I would want to have a consistent "look" in the "About" screen - at least without a line break in the paths. :)

I wonder whether the paths there are needed at all though, given that there is a menu item for opening both files anyway.
Dateimanagerfetischist.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Replace the static INI paths in the "About" screen

Post by *tuska » 2018-11-09, 14:31 UTC

Brumm wrote:
2018-11-09, 14:09 UTC
I would want to have a consistent "look" in the "About" screen - at least without a line break in the paths. :)
In my opinion, this can only be achieved if you ship your .ini files to a location, which has a shorter path.
Brumm wrote:
2018-11-09, 14:09 UTC
I wonder whether the paths there are needed at all though, given that there is a menu item for opening both files anyway.
This is a great help - even when answering forum questions - because it can be used to query without opening the file,
where the .ini files are located. This information is particularly useful when multiple TC instances are used.

Post Reply