On close tab, activate the previously active one

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

User avatar
Yuta
Member
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: 2007-03-27, 16:52 UTC
Location: Argentina

Post by *Yuta »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Currently this isn't planned, sorry.
What about openning the previous tab instead of the next one when you press Ctrl-W.

This way if "open new tabs near current tab" is active:
- Press Ctrl-T
- do you thing
- Press Ctrl-W
Then you'd be back were you started.

This is near of what Bontchev wants (Also me). And I know this was requested before.
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1863
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: On close tab, activate the previously active one

Post by *DrShark »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2007-07-12, 19:20 UTC Currently this isn't planned, sorry.
Can you please reconsider changing the current behavior, at least as an option? Current behavior really breaks workflow context, especially with multi row tabs where the row order can change on switch to different tab after closing some, making it harder to find a tab which was active before switching to now-closed tab.

It's possible to work it around partially by closing the tab with a button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_CloseCurrentTab,cm_SwitchToPreviousTab

wciconex.dll,84


0
-1
instead of Ctrl+W, but it sometimes doesn't work as expected and has other issues.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41608
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: On close tab, activate the previously active one

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Unfortunately this could become very complex, especially when adding multiple tabs at once (APPENDTABS), transferring tabs between panels, or deleting previously visited tabs via middle click, or visiting a tab multiple times.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1863
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: On close tab, activate the previously active one

Post by *DrShark »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2021-09-24, 19:37 UTC Unfortunately this could become very complex
I agree, but I guess all edge cases could be resolved with time.
And maybe for most cases it could be solved with just 2 new commands: cm_SwitchToPreviouslyActiveTab for switching to a tab which has been active previously, and cm_ClosePreviouslyActiveTab to close the tab which has been active previously.
So a button with commands chain:

Code: Select all

cm_SwitchToPreviouslyActiveTab,cm_ClosePreviouslyActiveTab
would do a desired task of closing current tab with a switch to previously active.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
User avatar
Sergey6257
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2021-10-04, 09:51 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: On close tab, activate the previously active one

Post by *Sergey6257 »

Bontchev wrote: 2007-03-04, 09:12 UTC
If you have 10 tabs:

A B C D E F G H I J

whey you forget the history of tab activating, you will be confuzed what will be when you close tab

A B C D E F G H I [J]
A B C D E F [G] H I
A B C D E F [H] I
A B [C] D E F I

It seems to me not userful and takes a lot of work to programmer.
Post Reply