[REQ] Internal Compare Tool => Call External Compare Tool

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

[REQ] Internal Compare Tool => Call External Compare Tool

Post by *icfu » 2006-11-03, 05:22 UTC

A button and a hotkey to call the manually defined external compare tool from inside the internal Compare Tool
06.09.05 Added: Support for external compare via line in wincmd.ini, e.g.: Comparetool=C:\program files\winmerge\WinMerge.exe
as an alternative to AHK would be nice.

I have spotted an empty space where the three buttons are located...

Icfu
This account is for sale

User avatar
Sosna
Member
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: 2006-10-24, 10:52 UTC

Post by *Sosna » 2006-11-03, 06:37 UTC

Support +
Ave Caesar Imperator,
moritari te salutant!

User avatar
byblo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2005-02-20, 21:13 UTC

Post by *byblo » 2006-11-03, 07:25 UTC

+1.

All internal tools should give the ability to choice an external one.


Also, I really didn't tested v7 so much, but can't you call an external application with the new hotkeys/aliases system ?

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu » 2006-11-03, 08:27 UTC

All internal tools of TC use hardcoded shortcuts and disable the rest. TC parameters are meant to be used in file panels only. Correct me if I am wrong. ;)

If TC would offer a possibility to limit hotkeys to windows and controls, we could get rid of hardcoded shortcuts completely and enjoy real freedom. Maybe an idea for future improvement.

Icfu
This account is for sale

User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA » 2006-11-03, 08:41 UTC

byblo: yes with the new system u can create own commands to call external applications.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu » 2006-11-03, 09:46 UTC

But they don't work in Internal Compare Tool, MRT, Sync, etc... Nothing has changed here.

Icfu
This account is for sale

Post Reply