Buttonbar Parameters %P%N - Problem

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
SKolb
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2003-02-25, 21:39 UTC

Buttonbar Parameters %P%N - Problem

Post by *SKolb »

Using Directory T:\T T\File.name


? /c /s "K:\My Config\Script.vcf" /p %P%N %PNew.name /r /x

produces

/c /s "K:\My Config\Script.vcf" /p "T:\T T\File.name" T:\T T\New.name /r /x

The Problem is that %P%N produces an expression with "" but %PNew.name produces a expression without ""

I expect this should be same behaviour (but which one ?)

Cheers Sascha
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13064
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Well it's by design exactly for this case. %P with quotes wouldn't work, since you would get

Code: Select all

"T:\T T\"New.name
and %P%N is with quotes so you don't have to add any. Hence the solution simply is to use

Code: Select all

"%PNew.name"
HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13064
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Moderator message

Moved to TC 7 discussion forum.

Hacker (Moderator)
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
SKolb
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2003-02-25, 21:39 UTC

This is very unspecific behaviour !

Post by *SKolb »

Due to my opinion ...

Either nowhere "" or "" on the right places everywhere ;-)

I understand that current implementation will make it eventaully difficult for solution 2. But this mixture is not very comfortable.

What do others think ?

IMO

Sascha
User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3860
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard »

The way it works right now is the only way it works. :!:

If you enter a file with a space in the name:

Code: Select all

%PMy.Fine New.name
What should TC do ?

Cast it as program call with parameter like:

Code: Select all

"%PMy.Fine" New.name
or

Cast it as full program call:

Code: Select all

"%PMy.Fine New.name"
You are the only one who knows which is the intended version to use... so you have to put quotes at the correct position yourself.
#5767 Personal license
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48075
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Just put "" yourself where you need them. If you put "%P%N" with "" then TC will not add its own!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply