F4 (aka Edit) on Directory

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
ono
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 2003-12-22, 11:37 UTC
Location: Zurich Area, Switzerland

F4 (aka Edit) on Directory

Post by *ono » 2017-12-08, 15:18 UTC

Hi, (Long time no see!)

Is there a reason why TC throws "No files selected!" when selecting a directory and trying to edit? Any reason that this feature files only?

Having a checkbox "[X] Also pass select directories to the editor" would be much appreciated.

I use Sublime Text as my primary editor, and when passing directory as argument it open whole directory (project) and it is perfectly fine.
Unfortunately I cannot simply F4 in TC on directories, I need to use workaround to drag&drop in this case.

I had a long break from using TC, now I am doing some Windows activity. I use ForkLift on Mac, and where it is completely fine to Edit directories.

Cheers,
Adam
TC Personal license #99581

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2358
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: F4 (aka Edit) on Directory

Post by *Stefan2 » 2017-12-08, 16:01 UTC

ono wrote:
Is there a reason why TC throws "No files selected!" when selecting a directory and trying to edit? Any reason that this feature files only?

Hi,

the F4 feature is just not designed to work that way with directories
as it work on default with Notepad.exe which do not know what to do with an path only.


But there are a few F4-redirectors which may provide that feature?




Or just create a user command to launch your editor with the path of the selected folder (or file)
and assign a shortcut as Ctrl+Alt+F4 to that command (or even F4 if wanted).




Or simple a button like

CMD = subl
PARAM = %P%N

may work for you?




 

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8225
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2017-12-08, 20:22 UTC

But there are a few F4-redirectors which may provide that feature?
I'm afraid that TC doesn't expect that any program that is set up as editor supports directories so it just tells that no files selected.

Button, shortcut, main/context menu item with Sublime should work fine.

ono
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 2003-12-22, 11:37 UTC
Location: Zurich Area, Switzerland

Post by *ono » 2018-01-18, 14:40 UTC

Sorry for late reply, but your solution for just binding "subl" to F4 via custom command work very well. Thank you!
TC Personal license #99581

Post Reply