Multi-Rename Tool with option "copy" (instead of r

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
thomasw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 2007-06-25, 08:44 UTC

Multi-Rename Tool with option "copy" (instead of r

Post by *thomasw » 2018-01-16, 18:26 UTC

Hi all!

I would like to have an additional option in the splendid Multi-Rename tool.
When this option is active the selected files are not renamed but copied with the new name on the same place (directory) or to a specified directory (additional option of the new option :lol:).

It would be helpful to manage some special tasks I need to do regularly!

What do you think about that?
Any others who think it would be helpful?

Thanks and best regards
Thomas

User avatar
elgonzo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 2013-09-04, 14:07 UTC

Post by *elgonzo » 2018-01-16, 20:55 UTC

Not really needed...

Just copy the files into another (sub)directory. Then rename. Then move the renamed files back to the original directory. Voila...
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

hi5
Member
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Post by *hi5 » 2018-01-17, 21:54 UTC

@elgonzo that is not a valid argument, many things are not needed but can be very useful. You don't need TC at all if you look at it like that.
I think "Copy" would be nice feature.

For the sake of future (re)searchers I link to two - somewhat related - other threads here

thomasw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 2007-06-25, 08:44 UTC

Post by *thomasw » 2018-01-20, 21:12 UTC

@hi5: Thank you for your "support"!

What can we do to promote this goal :?:

Thanks!
Thomas

hi5
Member
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Post by *hi5 » 2018-01-21, 09:26 UTC

Hopefully Mr Ghisler sees these discussions and will implement these suggestions. I haven't seen any comments yet so that either means he is not interested OR is thinking about it :-)

Replacing MRT with your own/another multi-rename-tool could be an idea. There is a AutoHotkey script that is a clone+some additional features in AutoHotkey but it hasn't been updated in a number of years, but it can read TC plugins which is of course something people would want.

multi-rename-script by majkinetor (screenshot on GH)
https://github.com/majkinetor/multi-rename-script

hi5
Member
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Post by *hi5 » 2018-01-26, 20:28 UTC


Post Reply