ALWAYS ON TOP request

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
gridsleep
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-01-08, 05:13 UTC

ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *gridsleep » 2018-08-10, 23:51 UTC

I love TC. It's the second program I install in any new build after anti-virus. It is the most used program. I've been using it since Windows 3 it feels like.

:idea: I would like TC to have an option to Always Be On Top. There are times I am comparing something in a program or browser to something in a directory and I would like TC to stay on top especially when I am scrolling or leafing or otherwise examining the other programs. Having to keep bringing TC to the front to do whatever work is at hand is annoying. Always On Top like Task Manager and other such programs would be very handy. Other than that, TC is just frigging perfect. Thanks for all the hard work. :D :D :D :D :D :D

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8030
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *petermad » 2018-08-11, 08:53 UTC

That could be usefull - support.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
jinsight
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 2003-02-25, 19:47 UTC
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Re: ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *jinsight » 2018-08-11, 14:01 UTC

License #1945
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.165)
TC 9.20 x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.895 (x64)

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6247
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *Dalai » 2018-08-11, 15:20 UTC

Rather than implementing such feature in every software, it's makes much more sense to use a 3rd-party software that can set any window always-on-top. Actually such a function is the OS's (or window manager's) job, but MS never bothered to implement it.

I use my own AutoIt script running in the background because I didn't find a software that was customizable enough to fit my needs (primarily keyboard shortcut). If anyone is interested in that script, feel free to ask.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11020
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *Hacker » 2018-08-15, 21:12 UTC

Code: Select all

WinSet, AlwaysOnTop, Toggle, ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
This AHK script toggles TC's Always On Top state.

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
gridsleep
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-01-08, 05:13 UTC

Re: ALWAYS ON TOP request

Post by *gridsleep » 2018-10-04, 12:12 UTC

Thank you for the replies, suggestions and links. I did not get any notification in my email about them; I just checked and notification was enabled. Curious.

Post Reply