Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 2009-06-16, 15:24 UTC
Location: SEAu

Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Phred » 2019-04-12, 05:31 UTC

Many times I have used the MRT to perform a quick rename function only to find that command elements that I have used in the past remained in the dialog box and actually took effect in the result, unwantedly.

The giant of file renaming tools, Bulk Rename Utility (BRU), has a very valuable control, an [R] that performs a 'Reset' - clear - all previous settings in the GUI disappear so as not to include unwanted previous choices.
Indeed, in recent versions BRU colours those fields that have entries; a very useful addition.

I suggest a Reset control inside the MRT, and even faint colours.
Regards, PhredE
Licence holder since 1999

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6701
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Dalai » 2019-04-12, 07:20 UTC

Press F2 to open the saved renaming profiles. In there you'll find a profile called <default> which does exactly what you want.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2623
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-04-12, 07:22 UTC

Phred wrote:
2019-04-12, 05:31 UTC
Many times I have used the MRT to perform a quick rename function
only to find that command elements that I have used in the past remained in the dialog box and actually took effect in the result, unwantedly.
Some would call that a feature, re-using the last well crafted settings :D

- - -
Phred wrote:
2019-04-12, 05:31 UTC
The ... has a very valuable control, an [R] that performs a 'Reset'
- clear - all previous settings in the GUI disappear so as not to include unwanted previous choices.
...
I suggest a Reset control inside the MRT, and even faint colours.

For to reset the last settings, on start to get a clean and fresh MRT
- launch MRT
- press F2-key
- choose <default> (just press the '<' -key)
Done!

(Tip: if you in need, save this e.g. as "A-CleanDefault" and follow next tip to always start MRT clean and fresh)
Taken from viewtopic.php?p=347067#p347067



HTH? :wink:  
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 2009-06-16, 15:24 UTC
Location: SEAu

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Phred » 2019-04-12, 12:23 UTC

Ah yes, a load/save control with F2 (edit/rename..) function key. I've rarely travelled over there on the distant right side ;-)

Yes, 'F2, default' in the MRT works, but it does demand unprompted recall to (know of and) use it. It's obscured and it's two steps.
Unlike BRU it offers no visual alert - the reason why we have a GUI - that will remind us that settings chosen in the past still obtain.
BRU will immediately and dynamically show -----Replace (3)--------- or -----Case (4)--------- in red. Fairly unmissable.

Upon revisiting BRU I see that each setting has the [R] button - that will zero any content, and indeed each has its own [tick] to tempor'ily disable the contents of a control.

Further, there is a yellow 'attention bar' near the 'go button', Rename, drawing our attention to the 'total Reset' and Revert (clear all) buttons.

It's a giant.

I believe TC's MRT could emulate many of the ideas that BRU implements.


'..retaining the last well crafted settings as a feature.' Hmpf. :(
Regards, PhredE
Licence holder since 1999

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6701
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Dalai » 2019-04-12, 17:44 UTC

Isn't it expected that, if you select a renaming profile on purpose, it resets everything? Why do you need some additional warning for that?

And yes, I also think it's a feature that the MRT retains its settings as long as TC is running. I use the MRT quite often to rename files across multiple disks in multiple steps without saving it as a profile.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8508
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *petermad » 2019-04-12, 18:02 UTC

2Phred
As a work-around:
Make this entry in your usercmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

[em_multirename]
cmd=MULTIRENAME <default>

and remap Ctrl+M with this entry in the [Shortcuts] section of your wincmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

C+M=em_multirename
If you don't have a usercmd.ini file, then make one in the same directory as your wincmd.ini file.
If you don't have a [Shortcuts] section in your wincmd.ini file, then make one.


You can also in stead make this button in your button bar:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
MULTIRENAME <default>

wcmicons.dll,46
Multi Rename Tool with default setting


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2623
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-04-12, 18:34 UTC

petermad wrote:
2019-04-12, 18:02 UTC

As a work-around:

Multi Rename Tool with default setting


Do you want to reinvent the wheel ? :P

modify the WINCMD.ini
[Configuration]
MultiRenameLoadSettings=<default>
(just add the line if not already there)




 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8508
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *petermad » 2019-04-12, 18:43 UTC

2Stefan2
[Configuration]
MultiRenameLoadSettings=
Oops, I totally forgot about that parameter :oops:

But the Button i provided can still be useful, if you want to be able to only open the Multi Rename Toll with default setting occasionally (hence omitting the MultiRenameLoadSettings parameter in wincmd.ini)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 2009-06-16, 15:24 UTC
Location: SEAu

Re: Multi Rename Tool (MRT) Reset Control

Post by *Phred » 2019-04-13, 07:16 UTC

Thanks petermad, useful and interesting control you offer there.
I implemented both and they work nicely, mutually independently.

And thanks Stefan2 for the MultiRenameLoadSettings reminder. Handy.
Dalai wrote:
2019-04-12, 17:44 UTC
Isn't it expected that, if you select a renaming profile on purpose, it resets everything? Why do you need some additional warning for that?
And yes, I also think it's a feature that the MRT retains its settings as long as TC is running. I use the MRT quite often to rename files across multiple disks in multiple steps without saving it as a profile.
Regards
Dalai
Yes, however, what I neglected to say in the OP was that while I may load MRT with previous settings still in their fields, unwantedly - sometimes they're valuable and wanted.
Images from Flickr don't seem to load, but it appears to be accessible:
Image: https://flic.kr/p/2e85Yg4
Notice how the red alerts stand out, informing you that some fields are currently set.
With the red alerts, you are unlikely to fire the activity without wanting them; you may well approve of them.

I feel others may appreciate the alerts too.
Regards, PhredE
Licence holder since 1999

Post Reply