Inplace rename is not closed when changing current dir

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Contact:

Inplace rename is not closed when changing current dir

Post by *Flint »

It seemed to me that this bug has already been reported here, but I failed to find it... If I just missed it somehow, please, close this topic.

1. Place the cursor on any file/folder, press Shift+F6 to activate the inplace rename editbox.
2. Click on the [*][/b] button in the panel header to show the Directory Hotlist.
3. Select any folder from this list.
4. The current folder is changed, but the rename editbox is still shown and active.

© Report from the Russian forum.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 10.52 / Win10 x64
User avatar
StickyNomad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1933
Joined: 2004-01-10, 00:15 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StickyNomad »

2Flint

Confirmed. quite obscure...
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14796
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Confirmed - The positive thing is, that if you hit Enter afterwards the file is not renamed.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Confirmed, I will change that!

Please let me know if you can find any other way to change directories where the rename box isn't removed.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Please let me know if you can find any other way to change directories where the rename box isn't removed.
There are many
change directory using the following menu

Code: Select all

POPUP "Navigation"
    MENUITEM "Go back", cm_GotoPreviousDir
    MENUITEM "Go forward", cm_GotoNextDir
    MENUITEM "Go back, no ftp", cm_GotoPreviousLocalDir
    MENUITEM "Go forward, no ftp", cm_GotoNextLocalDir
    MENUITEM "Open dir or zip under cursor", cm_GoToDir
    MENUITEM "Transfer to left", cm_TransferLeft
    MENUITEM "Transfer to right", cm_TransferRight
END_POPUP
I tested all other commands under navigation category, but the rename box is disappearing when changing dir using them.

related to this bug, if you start inplace renaming then execute sort command (by mouse from main menu) the files are sorted but the raname box doesn't removed and if you continued to rename, the renaming will fail
here is another menu

Code: Select all

POPUP "Sorting"
    MENUITEM "Sort by name", cm_SrcByName
    MENUITEM "Sort by extension", cm_SrcByExt
    MENUITEM "Sort by size", cm_SrcBySize
    MENUITEM "Sort by date", cm_SrcByDateTime
    MENUITEM "Unsorted", cm_SrcUnsorted
    MENUITEM "Reversed order", cm_SrcNegOrder
    MENUITEM SEPARATOR
    MENUITEM "Sort by first column", cm_SrcSortByCol1
    MENUITEM "Sort by second column", cm_SrcSortByCol2
    MENUITEM "Sort by third column", cm_SrcSortByCol3
    MENUITEM "etc...", cm_SrcSortByCol4
END_POPUP
this apply too for left and right sorting command

in general it will be better to hide rename box once the user start navigating the main menu, maybe there are other commands will be not safe to execute while rename box is active,
for example when i executed cm_Return from the menu while rename box is visible, TC hanging about 3 minutes before return back and opening the file under the cursor

tested using TC7pb3/Win ME
User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2081
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 »

as expected here is a very bad bug (related to above one)
1- start inplace renaming file or folder e.g. in left panel
2- from main menu execute swap panels (cm_Exchange)
3- continue renaming and press enter
rename process will complete but for an item (file or folder) in the right panel (now it is left after cm_exchange) that has the same index of left panel item you start renaming before exchanging.

tested using TC7pb3/Win ME
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14796
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

If you use cm_GoToFirstFile while inplace renaming, the cursor disappears.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

OK, I have now added some code which removes the rename box when TC receives ANY internal command. The private beta testers may already test this now.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14796
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

The private beta testers may already test this now.
Yes - it works fine.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3487
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Contact:

Post by *Flint »

Confirm fixing in pb4.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 10.52 / Win10 x64
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48079
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply