GUI flashes on TC start

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

redfox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 2015-02-09, 11:36 UTC
Location: Czech Republic

GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *redfox » 2018-07-15, 12:12 UTC

I just upgraded from TC 9.12 to 9.20 and noticed, that its GUI elements (icons, buttons, arrows etc.) reload (flash) just after TC startup.
v9.12 was OK.

Win7/32.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1546
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Post by *tuska » 2018-07-15, 12:34 UTC


redfox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 2015-02-09, 11:36 UTC
Location: Czech Republic

Post by *redfox » 2018-07-15, 12:37 UTC

Thanks for the link.
The bug is still not fixed.
Last edited by redfox on 2018-07-15, 19:26 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-15, 13:05 UTC

NOT confirmed. Please provide a details and a settings file to reproduce it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

redfox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 2015-02-09, 11:36 UTC
Location: Czech Republic

Post by *redfox » 2018-07-15, 13:43 UTC

I tested it again.

What does flash (blink) exactly:

- disk toolbar
- navigation buttons (go to parent, go to root), history and bookm. button
- scrollbars
- frames, surrounding the file panels

What does not flash:

- top toolbar with custom icons
- bottom buttons (F3-F8, exit)

When I use an empty .ini file, the flashing is (due to the default flat interface) less noticeable, but still present.
Here is my settings file:

Code: Select all

https://uloz.to/!JRd4MQYDbmH8/wincmd-ini

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-17, 09:48 UTC

I found something: On Windows 7, I get a WM_THEMECHANGED notification from Windows on startup, although the theme didn't actually change! TC handles this by reloading the theme files, and (with a delay of 1 second) by refreshing the entire window. This is necessary in case of real theme changes to remove artifcats from the previous theme. I will ignore WM_THEMECHANGED during the startup phase.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

redfox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 2015-02-09, 11:36 UTC
Location: Czech Republic

Post by *redfox » 2018-07-17, 10:23 UTC

Ok. If you have a test build, post a link here, I can check it.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8468
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-21, 13:21 UTC

I found something: On Windows 7, I get a WM_THEMECHANGED notification from Windows on startup, although the theme didn't actually change! TC handles this by reloading the theme files, and (with a delay of 1 second) by refreshing the entire window. This is necessary in case of real theme changes to remove artifcats from the previous theme. I will ignore WM_THEMECHANGED during the startup phase.
Is this related to this: https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=341059#341059 where I point out a difference in behaviour in Win 7 and 10?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-22, 06:52 UTC

It could be - we will see with the next beta version...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-25, 13:43 UTC

This should be fixed in TC 9.21 rc1, please test it! The new version should prevent the short flash about 1 second after starting. It will not prevent the re-loading of the button bar if this becomes necessary.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8468
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *petermad » 2018-07-25, 16:54 UTC

And unfortunately it does not prevent the flashing of the desktop icons under Windows 7 when TC starts or restarts.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-26, 07:47 UTC

And unfortunately it does not prevent the flashing of the desktop icons under Windows 7 when TC starts or restarts.
I cannot do that because it's a Windows bug.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

redfox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: 2015-02-09, 11:36 UTC
Location: Czech Republic

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *redfox » 2019-04-16, 13:11 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2018-07-26, 07:47 UTC
And unfortunately it does not prevent the flashing of the desktop icons under Windows 7 when TC starts or restarts.
I cannot do that because it's a Windows bug.
I use the TC version 9.21a, and there is no desktop icons flashing in Windows 7 SP1 32bit.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-04-18, 10:31 UTC

It only happens when calling certain Windows functions, e.g. to extract icons. If you open TC with two empty folders, you will not get a desktop flash.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8468
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: GUI flashes on TC start

Post by *petermad » 2019-04-18, 21:00 UTC

If you open TC with two empty folders, you will not get a desktop flash
Hmm - I only see that under Windows 10. If I open TC with two empty folders under Windows 7, I still see the flash.

Interstingly enough If I open TC with two empty folders under Windows 10, and I the leave the empty folder - I see the flash.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply