Compare contents line count error

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Compare contents line count error

Post by *wanderer »

Compare contents window - compare 2 files with some different lines (let's say 10, scattered in the file, with the 2-3 differences at the top, being lines missing from one of the files).

- Press "Show only differences, with extra lines 0".
- Then press Edit Mode.

Clicking on the Next/Previous Differences buttons, notice that all lines get selected at some point, except the first one.

What i'm describing here stands for TC950b8 and for older versions too (tried 9.22a).
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9360
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Compare contents line count error

Post by *petermad »

Confirmed - but only with "Show only differences, with extra lines" set to 0
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39100
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Compare contents line count error

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, cannot reproduce. I created some test files but they all behave as expected.
Could you e-mail me two test files, please?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9360
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Compare contents line count error

Post by *petermad »

2ghisler(Author)
Try with the two files in https://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/comparetest.zip

1. Unpack the two files history1.txt and history2.txt and open them in Compare by contents (history1.txt in the left side)
2. Check the box "Show only differences, with extra lines:" and set the extra lines to 0.
3. Click on the "Edit mode" button.
4. Click the "Next difference" button - line 17 is selected in history1.txt.
5. Click the "Next difference" button - line 120 is selected in history1.txt - it should have been line 116.
6. Click the "Next difference" button - line 152 is selected in history1.txt - it should have been line 128.

7. Click the "Previous difference" button - line 120 is selected in history1.txt - it should have been line 128.
8. Click the "Previous difference" button - line 17 is selected in history1.txt - it should have been line 116.
9. Click the "Previous difference" button - line 17 is still selected in history1.txt - it should have been line 4.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9360
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Compare contents line count error

Post by *petermad »

10.12.19 Fixed: Compare by content: Going to next/previous difference may skip results when only showing differences with 0 extra lines (32/64)
Confirmed fixed in TC 9.5b9 :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply