tc does not restart after installation

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 562
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

tc does not restart after installation

Post by *Hurdet »

tc does not restart after installation.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Not confirmed. Please give me more details, e.g.
- Windows version
- 32-bit or 64-bit
- error message you get
- error in Windows error log
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 562
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet »

Win 10 and 7
64b
nothing
nothing
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

It could be an antivirus or anti-malware software. These often block programs after an update, because they see that the EXE file has changed.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 562
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Post by *Hurdet »

i have disabled any antivirus or anti-malware software.
Does anyone else have this same problem?
User avatar
Mikefield
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 625
Joined: 2006-02-26, 19:13 UTC
Location: Oberursel, Germany HE

Post by *Mikefield »

I never saw it, that the Total Commander restarts after an update.
I missed this feature long time ago.
Is there a switch in the wincmd.ini to activate it?

mf
Bankster - Word of the Year 2009
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

As I understand it, the thread starter could not restart Total Commander (manually) after applying the update.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Mikefield
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 625
Joined: 2006-02-26, 19:13 UTC
Location: Oberursel, Germany HE

Post by *Mikefield »

ghisler(Author) wrote:As I understand it, the thread starter could not restart Total Commander (manually) after applying the update.
Ah, OK, thanks Christian for clarification.
How do you think about an automatic restart after an update?

mf
Bankster - Word of the Year 2009
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This isn't currently possible, because the installer is run with higher user rights, so TC would be run this way too.

I would have to completely rewrite the installer to run with normal user rights, and only request higher rights when needed (just like Total Commander itself with tcadmin). This is planned, but very time consuming, so I haven't had the time yet.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11972
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Christian,
Is it not possible to run a program with normal rights from a program with admin rights?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I couldn't find any, no.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 562
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Re: tc does not restart after installation

Post by *Hurdet »

Do you have read this?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 40779
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: tc does not restart after installation

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Well, the first answer describes perfectly why I prefer not to do it:
What you are trying to achieve cannot be done very easily and is not supported. However, it is possible using a modicum of hacking.
In other words, any Windows security update or Windows 10 upgrade could break this functionality.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply