Plugins get installed in the wrong location

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Plugins get installed in the wrong location

Post by *Thany » 2018-07-04, 14:54 UTC

Plugins get installed in C:\Program Files (x86)\totalcmd instead of C:\Program Files\totalcmd, where totalcmd is actually running from.

No idea why this could happen. Can this please be fixed? Thanks.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37410
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-04, 17:10 UTC

TC remembers the last base directory to which it installed plugins in wincmd.ini [Configuration] pluginbasedir.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *Thany » 2018-07-04, 18:57 UTC

Okay, so the question is: is that correct behaviour?

Why does it need to store where it itself is located? It's located where it's located, isn't it?

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3355
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2018-07-04, 19:10 UTC

Thany wrote:Okay, so the question is: is that correct behaviour?

Why does it need to store where it itself is located? It's located where it's located, isn't it?
Its correct and has nothing to do with the location of TC itself.
You may have installed plugins on any place and its convenient that TC remembers it.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.239)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.947 (x64)

Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *Thany » 2018-07-05, 07:46 UTC

Horst.Epp wrote:
Thany wrote:Okay, so the question is: is that correct behaviour?

Why does it need to store where it itself is located? It's located where it's located, isn't it?
Its correct and has nothing to do with the location of TC itself.
You may have installed plugins on any place and its convenient that TC remembers it.
I think plugins should always go in the same place. I don't see why it's even possible to install them anywhere else. What is the use-case for installing them in a custom location?

It's convenient that TC remembers the last location, sure. But I feel it's inconvenient that the user that to determine where to install them.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-07-05, 14:26 UTC

Thany wrote:I think plugins should always go in the same place.
Same here.
I don't see why it's even possible to install them anywhere else. What is the use-case for installing them in a custom location?
User specific plugins? Writable plugin configurations in an otherwise locked TC? I can think of several use cases where it makes sense to relocate only some TC plugins.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Thany
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: 2003-09-30, 09:20 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *Thany » 2018-07-19, 08:17 UTC

User specific plugins? Writable plugin configurations in an otherwise locked TC?
For that it is sufficient to ask "install for me only" or "install for everyone" or similar.

Asking for a specific directory just raises confusion. One might think "where am I supposed to put it and why does the program not know this?"

Post Reply