Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
ObiRobKanobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-10-18, 09:14 UTC

Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

Post by *ObiRobKanobi »

I know if it is already possible, but otherwise it is a good proposal.

You can now define shortcuts

[shortcuts] Defines keyboard shortcuts replacing the default shortcuts
CAS + F2 = cm_renameonly In this example, Ctrl + Alt + Shift + F2 calls the internal function cm_renameonly.
(C = Ctrl, A = Alt, S = Shift)
[shortcutswin] Same as [shortcuts], but together with Windows key.

Example

[Shortcuts]
; Enable 'F2' key to RENAME, additional to origin 'Shift + F6'
; F2 = cm-RenameOnly
; Enable 'Ctrl + F' to SEARCH (find-files), additional to origin 'Alt + F7'
C + F = cm_SearchFor
Use 'Ctrl + O' to launch DOS-Box in current path
C + o = cm_ExecuteDOS
; Disable 'Alt + F4' (Exit, close program), load Help instead
A + F4 = cm_Keyboard
; Disable 'F8' (Delete), load Help instead
; F8 = cm_Keyboard

Wouldn't it be nice if more Windows Administrative Tools could be configured here.

Yes I know you can also load this via WIN + X, but with a key combination it is faster.

BR, ObiRobKanobi
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4158
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

Post by *Stefan2 »

Hi and welcome.

ObiRobKanobi wrote: 2019-11-23, 13:36 UTC You can now define shortcuts
...
.....

Wouldn't it be nice if more Windows Administrative Tools could be configured here.


What stops you from doing that?






 
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14808
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

Post by *petermad »

2ObiRobKanobi
You can just define your own em_commands to load Windows programs, and then use them in the [Shortcuts] section.

If you for example want to make a shortcut for Windows Task Scheduler - make this command in your usercmd.ini file *:

Code: Select all

[em_schedtasks]
cmd=taskschd.msc
menu=Task Scheduler
button=mstask.dll
and then this in the [Shortcuts] section of your wincmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

[Shortcuts]
C+S=em_schedtasks
to assign Ctrl+T to opening Task Sheduler

em_commands can also be used with buttonbar Buttons, Main and Start menu, Directory hotlist, View Modes, Aliases and Command line.

* You can run cm_CommandBrowser to create/edit you usercommands - just scroll to the bottom of the left panel in the "Choose Command" dialog, click on usercmd.ini and click the "New"/"Edit" button.
Last edited by petermad on 2019-11-24, 20:24 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
ObiRobKanobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-10-18, 09:14 UTC

Re: Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

Post by *ObiRobKanobi »

@Stefan2, As I wrote in my first sentence
I know if it is already possible
and I use Windows oeps TotalCommander over more then 25 year and still surprised about the possibilities :D :D

@Petermad,

Thanks this is precisely what I looking for.
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Shortcuts and Windows Administrative Tools

Post by *Usher »

ObiRobKanobi wrote: 2019-11-23, 13:36 UTC I know if it is already possible
It's unclear (not correct in English). Choose one of more correct sentences, please:
"I don't know if it is possible."
or
"I know that it is possible."
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Polish subforum moderator
Post Reply