Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Swiping requires that you move at least half a screen wide, it's not a question of swiping speed. This was done because without it, scrolling vertically would otherwise often cause a switch between panels, because scrolling vertically can be quite fast.

Clicking on the -> button never failed here, can you give me more info what happens when it fails?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Digika
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2019-05-26, 14:46 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Digika »

Nothing, it just does nothing, like if app is in frozen state and buttons do not work. Often I had to tap 5-7 times until it works. I'm suspecting it might be related to TC trying to re-read file structure? I have slightly similar issue when I click Home button - it takes a few 1-2 seconds for it to display the content of home.

Let me know if you need nay logs, TC's or logcat

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sounds more like something intercepts the click on the button, e.g. the vertical scrollbar.
Do other buttons (e.g. at the bottom) in TC work when the arrow button doesn't?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Digika
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2019-05-26, 14:46 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Digika »

Yeah, other buttons work just fine.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Try tapping on it more towards the edge of the display.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Digika
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2019-05-26, 14:46 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Digika »

Yeah, that was my first thought, sadly didnt really do much

Slavic
Member
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: 2006-02-26, 15:41 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Slavic »

TC and Android 11 beta 1

I installed on my phone the first beta version of Android 11 and checked the previously reported bug in Android 10 with widgets. Here is a link to an old Android 10 screenshot of the widget selection screen, if someone missed that bug:
https://prnt.sc/ogurz5

This bug is no longer reproduced in Android 11. All widget icons look like they should, no any "blue robot" or icons with grids are noticed anywhere. I checked this after OTA upgrade, I uninstalled TC and installed it (current version TC 3.01b2) again: all icons on the widget screen and newly created TC widgets are shown properly. I hope this fix is permanent.

I have noticed, however, one oddity which I haven't tested before.
First widget (TC link to the specified folder or app) doesn't work with home location.
To reproduce:
1) Open the widget selection screen and choose first TC icon.
2) You will see a TC screen with suggestion "Go to folder and click OK".
3) Press the "home icon" button. You will see the home list with OK button, but in fact the button is inactive, pressing it has no effect. It works normally in other folders.
Whether this is a bug or a normal behaviour, I cannot say. But the users potentially can be confused.

If I find other TC problems or Android-related bugs, I will note in this thread.
Desktop: Windows 8.1 x64, TC 9.51. Mobile: Pixel 3, Android 11 beta 1, TC 3.01b2

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39734
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Indeed you cannot currently add a link to the home folder, there is not content URL for that. You can open the home folder by long tapping on the regular Total Commander icon.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply